Subject Expert
Paul Victor
Contact:
JFK Library
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
509-359-7909
Starting Your Research
These are useful databases to begin your research, because they cover all relevant subjects and offer a mix of magazine and newspaper articles, as well as scholarly journal articles.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- ProQuestGood place to start if you want a mix of newspaper articles and journal articles. Full-text articles from over 4400 journals and magazines, with indexing for another 1500 as far back as 1971; full-text articles from over 1000 regional, national and international newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal; and 1500+ political science journals back to 1974.
I Just Want Scholarly Journal Articles
These databases cover offer full text articles from scholarly journals. You are keyword searching the entire text of the articles, so you can be very specific in your keywords.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- Google ScholarUse Google Scholar to search for scholarly articles across the Web. Note the citation tracking feature. Can be a good complement to subscription databases, but do examine the article to make sure it is really a scholarly journal article that was published. The Google algorithms are not foolproof. See the tab "Searching Google Scholar" for directions on how to link the results to EWU's full text holdings.
Subject Specific Databases
Below is a list of our major subject-specific databases that fall under the social sciences. If you don't find an appropriate database, see Browse All Subject Guides for a complete list.
Business
- Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from periodicals (including peer-reviewed journals) on all aspects of business. Contains books, plus reports, papers and company profiles. Selected titles go back as far as 1886, but most begin in the 1990s.
- EconLit (EBSCOhost) -- 1969-present This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles on economics issues from journals and magazines, dissertations, books and working papers.
Communication
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, trade publications and more in the fields of communications, mass media and related subjects. Selected core titles are indexed back to the first issue.
Criminal Justice
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from criminal justice magazines and journals, with indexing/abstracting from others.
- NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes criminal justice journals, with selected magazines and videos back to the 1970s. Links full-text government reports from the U.S. Dept. of Justice.
Education
- Education Databases: Education Research Complete & ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSimultaneous search option for the two most comprehensive education databases.
Government & Politics
- Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAccess to journals and magazines, plus indexing for additional titles relating to military and government.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
History
- America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) -- 1954-present This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database for U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Materials include history journals, book reviews from core history journals and relevant dissertations.
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and encyclopedias, as well as hundreds of primary source documents and photographs for the histories and cultures of the Native American peoples.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and encyclopedias, as well as primary source documents for the history and culture of the African American community.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, magazines and government documents on all aspects of North American indigenous peoples' culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. Formerly titled Bibliography of Native North Americans.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) -- 1954-present This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Find full text from hundreds of scholarly journals and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
Medicine/Health Science
- Health/Medicine Databases: CINAHL, MEDLINE & Health Sources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch four health/medicine databases simultaneously: the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, MEDLINE, Health Source Consumer and Health Source Academic.
Music
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database for music literature, covering journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.
Psychology
- PsycArticles - APA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from all American Psychological Association journals. Coverage back to the first issue of each journal, for example Psychological Review goes back to 1894.
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Sociology & Social Work
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
- Social Work Abstracts (EBSCOhost) -- 1965-present This link opens in a new window***This database only allows 8 users at a time***
Selectively indexes journals for articles relating to social work and human services.
Sports/Exercise
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sports, fitness, sports medicine, and physical education. Articles from journals and magazines going back to 1985. Also includes selective indexing for around additional journals, plus assorted books and conference proceedings.
Technology
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost) -- 1983-present This link opens in a new windowCore journals and magazines in chemistry, energy, engineering, physics, etc.
Urban Studies
- Urban Studies Abstracts (EBSCOhost) -- 1973-present This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals and magazines covering urban studies, community development, urban history, and related fields.
Women & Gender Studies
- LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals, magazines, and books, along with indexing from hundreds more. Dates of coverage vary by title, but some go back to the mid-1950s/1960s.