General Reference Books
When searching one of the books in the Gale Virtual Reference Library, you can enter a keyword in the Search Within This Publication box (left side of the screen) or use the eTable of Contents (center part of the screen) to browse by subject/topic.
Encyclopedia of European Social History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: HN373 .E63 2001ISBN: 0684805820Publication Date: 2000The Encyclopedia of European Social History covers all aspects of European social history from the Renaissance to the present. This six-volume work includes more than 230 articles on a wide range of topics. Included are more than 700 photographs, drawings and maps. The sixth volume also includes biographies of prominent European figures and a comprehensive index.
Encyclopedia Judaica by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: DS102.8 .E496ISBN: 9780028659282Publication Date: 2006Providing an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and culture as well as the contribution of Jews to world cultures. It has more than 22,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas by ISBN: 9780684313771Publication Date: 2004-12-03A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. For students and general readers.
Reference Books by Time Periods or Movements
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D114 .D5 1982ISBN: 0684190737Publication Date: 1989-04-01
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: CB361 .E52 1999ISBN: 0684805146Publication Date: 1999-12-17This set of volumes treats the full period of the Renaissance, from 1350 to 1650, encompassing Italy and the rest of Europe in the context of the broader world.
The European Renaissance and Reformation by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D20 .W67 2001ISBN: 0787617067Publication Date: 2001-06-08
Europe, 1450-1789 by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D209 .E97 2004ISBN: 068431200XPublication Date: 2003-11-19
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment ,1670-1815 by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: B802 .E53 2003ISBN: 0195104307Publication Date: 2002-12-26
Print Reference Books: U.S. History
Pring reference books are located on the main level of the JFK Library (behind the reference desk). U.S. history is mostly in the E call number range. You cannot check reference books out, but you can make copies of relevant sections.
Dictionary of American History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E174 .D52 2003ISBN: 0684805332Publication Date: 2002-12-11*Also available online
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E169.1 .E624 2001ISBN: 0684805618Publication Date: 2001-03-26
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E169.1 .E626 2001ISBN: 0684805006Publication Date: 2000-12-13
The Oxford Companion to United States History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E174 .O94 2001ISBN: 0195082095Publication Date: 2001-07-04
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E183 .P85 2010ISBN: 0691129711Publication Date: 2009-11-09
Print Reference Books: World Military History
Encyclopedia of World War I by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D510 .E53 2005ISBN: 1851094202Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of World War II by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D740 .E516 2005ISBN: 1576079996Publication Date: 2004
Oxford Companion to the Second World War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference D740 .O94 1995 / JFK Upper Level Book Stacks D740 .O94 1995ISBN: 0192141686Publication Date: 2000
World War II in Europe by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference D740 .W67 1999ISBN: 0824070291Publication Date: 1998
Genocide
When searching one of the books in the Gale Virtual Reference Library, you can enter a keyword in the Search Within This Publication box (left side of the screen) or use the eTable of Contents (center part of the screen) to browse by subject/topic.
Encyclopedia of Genocide by Call Number: JFK Library JFK Main Level Reference HV6322.7ISBN: 0874369282Publication Date: 2000Written by almost 100 experts from many countries, this award winning text is the first reference work to chart the full extent of this horrific subject with objectivity and authority.
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity by ISBN: 9780028659923Publication Date: 2004-12-01This encyclopedia spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large.- Encyclopedia Judaica by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: DS102.8 .E496ISBN: 9780028659282Publication Date: 2006Providing an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and culture as well as the contribution of Jews to world cultures. It has more than 22,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion.
Print Reference Books: U.S. Military History
Americans at War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E181 .A453 2005ISBN: 002865806XPublication Date: 2004-12-03
Civil War by Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks (E468 .C65 2006)ISBN: 1572154624Publication Date: 2000
The Civil War Naval Encyclopedia by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (E591 .C53 2011)ISBN: 1598843389Publication Date: 2010
Cold War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D839.5 .C65 1992ISBN: 0810389274Publication Date: 1992-12-01
Colonial Wars of North America, 1512-1763 by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (E46.5 .C65 1996)ISBN: 0824072081Publication Date: 1996
The Encyclopedia of African American Military History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: UB418 .A47 W45 2004ISBN: 1591021693Publication Date: 2004-07-01
Encyclopedia of American Military History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E181 .E63 2003ISBN: 0816043558Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and Warfare by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E81 .E98 2005ISBN: 0816033374Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E468 .E53 2000ISBN: 1576070662Publication Date: 2000-12-13
Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E208 .E64 2006ISBN: 1851094083Publication Date: 2006-09-28
Encyclopedia of the Korean War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: DS918 .E53 2000ISBN: 1576070298Publication Date: 2000-06-28
Encyclopedia of the Persian Gulf War by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (UF500 .G8 1995)ISBN: 1576074064Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: DS557.7 .E53 1998ISBN: 0874369835Publication Date: 1998-09-18
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (DS557.7 .E53 2000)ISBN: 0195135245Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (DS557.7 .E53 1996)ISBN: 0132769328Publication Date: 1996
The Encyclopedia of Warships by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (V765 .E53 2006)ISBN: 1592236278Publication Date: 2006.- Encyclopedia of World War I by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D510 .E53 2005ISBN: 1851094202Publication Date: 2005-09-27
- Encyclopedia of World War II by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D740 .E516 2005ISBN: 1576079996Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Oxford Companion to American Military History by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (E181 .O94 1999)ISBN: 0195071980Publication Date: 2000- The Oxford Companion to the Second World War by ISBN: 0192141686Publication Date: 2000
- World War II in Europe by ISBN: 0824070291Publication Date: 1998
