Subject Expert
Paul Victor
Contact:
JFK Library
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
509-359-7909
Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
Find Books, Videos
Having problems requesting items via Summit? Please contact the JFK Circulation Desk at 509.359.7888, circulation@ewu.edu, or in person on the main level.
- EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for books, videos, articles and more at EWU Libraries, Summit Libraries and beyond. While not required, if you want the full functionality (save or request items, etc.), please sign in with your NetID.
Useful Words for Finding Primary Sources in Databases/Catalogs
To find books that reproduce primary sources on your topic, you need to enter the topic (or person) you are researching and one of the following subjects:
Archives, correspondence, diaries, interviews, letters, manuscripts, maps, memoirs, narratives (personal, slave, etc.), photographs, propaganda, sources, speeches.
If you want to find reproductions of important primary sources from British history, then you can do a subject search for Great Britain History Sources in the EWU catalog.
Print Primary Sources Collections
*Notes:
- Primary sources in American history from the Shaw-Shoemaker series are available online from the Early American Imprints database (see below for the link)
-
Primary sources in British history can be found in collections like Early English books 1475-1640 by Alfred W Pollard (Alfred William). It is available at the JFK Library Lower Level Microfilm (Call number: Z2002 .P77)
Dictionary of Historic Documents by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D9 .D525 2003ISBN: 0816047723Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of American Historical Documents by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E173 .E54 2004ISBN: 0816049955Publication Date: 2004Presents a collection of documents that were significant to American history, from the period of European exploration to the present, including the passage of the Homeland Security Bill.
English Historical Documents by Call Number: JFK Library JFK Main Level Reference DA26 .E55ISBN: 0195201019Publication Date: 1980v. 1. c.500-1042, v. 2. 1042-1189, --v. 3. 1189-1327, --v. 4. 1327-1485, --v. 5. 1485-1558, .--v. 8. 1660-1714, --v. 9. American colonial documents, to 1776, --v. 10. 1714-1783, --v. 11. 1783-1832, --v. 12, pt. 1. 1833-1874, pt. 2. 1874-1914.- Milestone Documents in American History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E173 .M62 2008ISBN: 0979775833Publication Date: 2008Contains thirty-two full-text primary source documents that helped to shape American society from 1763 to 2003. Detailed break down by volume: v. 1: 1763-1823, v. 2: 1824-1887, v. 3: 1888-1955, v. 4: 1956-2003
World War II by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference D743.7 .W68 1999ISBN: 078763896XPublication Date: 1999Allows your students to study 16 full or excerpted speeches, diary entries, newspaper accounts, novels, poems, memoirs and other materials related to World War II. Entries are grouped together in broad
Digital Collections for Great Britain
- A Vision of Britain Through Time (1801-2001)Collections include historical maps, election results, census data and travel reports. Sponsored by the Department of Geography at the University of Portsmouth.
- Avalon ProjectA mixture of primary source documents from all over the world. Browse by either major document collection themes, time period (19th & 20th Cent.) or use the search box (top, right hand side).
- British and Commonwealth History Collections (Stanford University)Search by subject or resource type.
- British History Online (Univ. of London)Full text of primary documents. Browse by type of source.
- Cabinet Papers (1919-1983)Digitized U.K. Cabinet Papers from 1919-1983. Free downloads are available from the National Archives.
- Census Reports for Great Britain (1801-1971)Includes data for Great Britain, Scotland & Wales
- History of the United Kingdom: Primary Documents (EuroDocs)An extensive list of links to primary sources on the Internet. It isn't organized by categories, so you'll have to pick through to find what you want.
- London GazetteOfficial newspaper of record for the British Government. Coverage dates back to the 17th century.
- Online Historical Population Reports Website (Histpop)The Online Historical Population Reports (OHPR) collection provides online access to the complete British population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937.
- Parliamentary Debates (Hansard 1803–2005)This site has been produced from digitized editions of Commons and Lords Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament.
- Proceedings of the Old Bailey (1674-1913)A fully searchable database containing criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
World War I
- First World War Poetry Digital ArchiveThe First World War Poetry Digital Archive is an online repository of over 7000 items of text, images, audio, and video for teaching, learning, and research.
It includes collections of primary material from major poets of the period, including Wilfred Owen, Isaac Rosenberg, Robert Graves, Vera Brittain, and Edward Thomas. - World War I Document ArchivesContents include:
-Conventions and Treaties and Official Papers
-Documents by Year:
-Diaries, Memorials, Personal Reminiscences
-Books, Special Topics and Commentaries
-WWI Biographical Dictionary
-WWI Image Archive
-The Maritime War
-The Medical Front
-Links to Other WWI Sites: An extensive & well organized list of links.
World War II
- Imperial War MuseumSearch their catalog or browse their collections to find digitized images, sound or video. Examples include photographs, art, films, interviews and music, posters, letters, books, aircraft, shoes, weapons, toys and more from the library and records in the museum's archives.
Useful Web sites
- American President’s Project (use the search boxes on the bottom, left side)
- Atomic Archive
- The Atomic Bomb and the End of World War II: A Collection of Primary Sources (GWU’s National Security Archive)
- Avalon Project (Yale Law School) WWII Documents
- Dept. of Energy’s OpenNet – database to declassified documents
- Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum
- Harry Truman Library & Museum. Click on archival research link at the top left to see the collections. See also “Decision to Drop the Bomb.”
- Hiroshima & Nagasaki Remembered
- Library of Congress WWII Collection
- Los Alamos History
- Manhattan Project: The making of the atomic bomb (U.S. Dept. of Energy)
- Nagasaki Atomic Bomb Museum
- National Archives: Archival Research Catalog. Search for atomic bomb and find digital copies of a variety of materials (documents, pictures & video).
- Trinity Atomic Web Site: A mixture of documents, pictures & some video.
- Website suggestions from the National Archives
For other Web site suggestions by particular topics, please see the appropriate tab.