Home - Social Work 468 - Social Work Research - Research Guides at Eastern Washington University

Finding Research Articles for Evidence-Based Practice

PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new window
A large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.

To find empirical articles in PsycINFO:

Use the "Advanced Search"
Type your keywords into the search boxes
Scroll down the page to "Methodology," and choose "Empirical Study"
Choose other limits, such as publication date, if needed
Click on the "Search" button

View a Search Strategy Graphic

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
Social Work Abstracts (EBSCOhost) -- 1965-present This link opens in a new window
***This database only allows 8 users at a time***
Selectively indexes journals for articles relating to social work and human services.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Database for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) -- 1937-present This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes journals as far back as 1937 and provides full-text for over 2,300 journals. Also includes books, dissertations, conference proceedings, research instrument descriptions, and evidence-based care sheets.
PTSDpubs (ProQuest) -- 1871-present This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, indexes relevant articles on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of traumatic events.
PubMed -- 1946-present This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to all aspects of medicine back to 1946. Freely available from the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus additional selected biomedical sources. Look for the "Check for Full Text at EWU" button within individual PubMed records.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly articles across the Web (this can be a good complement to subscription databases). Note the citation tracking feature. This link includes Eastern Washington University indicators. You will see "Find it @ EWU" in your results, if we have the article full text in one of our databases.

Encyclopedia of Social Work

Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Social Work is a continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press. It includes over 800 articles that cover every facet of social work policy and practice, brief biographies of over 200 key figures in social work history, and references and links to related social work resources. Encyclopedia of Social Work is regularly updated with new and revised articles.