Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
eBook Management
- CaibreOpen source ( free from web) for eBook conversion and other features. Available for Mac, PC, and mobile devices.
Subject Expert
Qing Stellwagen
Contact:
JFK Library
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office: Showalter Hall
Room 104
Office hours for the year of 2023-2024: Tuesdays 9-11 am or by appointment
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office: Showalter Hall
Room 104
Office hours for the year of 2023-2024: Tuesdays 9-11 am or by appointment
509-359-2403
eReference
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowScholarly encyclopedias and reference works on a wide variety of topics: business, ASCD publications in education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, sciences, and the social sciences. Formerly named Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowSAGE Knowledge offers subject encyclopedias and reference works, mainly in the social sciences and business management.
- eBook Collection - Reference (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowEntries from scholarly bibliographies, handbooks, and specialized reference works. Keyword search the entire collection in the advanced search mode.
- eEncyclopedias available at EWUList of over 900 eEncyclopedias using the EWU Library Catalog. Add your search terms to the second search box to narrow the list.
Open Access eBooks
- DOAB Directory of Open Access eBooks27601 academic peer-reviewed books from 377 publishers
- JSTOR Open Access eBooksOver 6,000 Open Access ebooks from 75+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press. No DRM restrictions.
- Project Muse Open Access eBooks1,141 titles are available at this time thanks to "MUSE Open, an initiative supported by a grant from the Mellon Foundation, enables Project MUSE to distribute selected OA books in browser-native HTML5 format, with enhanced functionality. Many other books are available OA as PDF files."
- SpringerLink Open Access eBooks443 titles from areas within science, technology and medicine, and within the humanities and social sciences can be downloaded free of charge from SpringerLink (HTML, PDF, ePub) or Amazon (MOBI).
eBooks on the Web
Free, open-access materials, mostly historical. Display and download requirements and capacities will vary.
Many open access projects have the same public domain (free, usually prior to 1923 items).