What's Peer Review?
Courtesy of NCSU Libraries
Open Educational Resource Textbook
Click on the link to access the OER textbook - Research Methods in Psychology (4th ed.)
Librarian
Library Session Online Evaluation Form for Students
Click on the link below to access the Form:
Library Instruction Session Evaluation Form
OR scan the QR Code below:
Finding peer-reviewed articles for your prospectus
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
- PsycArticles - APA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from all American Psychological Association journals. Coverage back to the first issue of each journal, for example Psychological Review goes back to 1894.
- Social Work Abstracts (EBSCOhost) -- 1965-present This link opens in a new windowSelectively indexes journals for articles relating to social work and human services.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- Education Databases: Education Research Complete & ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSimultaneous search option for the two most comprehensive education databases.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly articles across the Web (this can be a good complement to subscription databases). Note the citation tracking feature. This link includes Eastern Washington University indicators. You will see "Find it @ EWU" in your results, if we have the article full text in one of our databases. Remember not everything in Google Scholar is peer-reviewed.
- Annual Review of Psychology (last 5 years)Included is Annual Review of Psychology, comprehensive literature reviews in the psychological sciences.
APA Citation Guides & Sample Papers
- In-Text Citations - from apastyle.apa.orgThe specific guidance for in-text citation is provided, including in-text citations in general; and paraphrases and direct quotations.
- APA 7th Ed. Sample Papers from American Psychological AssociationSeveral examples of papers written in APA Style format illustrate various elements of APA Style. They are accessible in PDF format below.
- Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA StyleThis tutorial shows you how to structure and format your work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples.
- Handouts and Guides for the 7th edition APA Publication ManualHandouts can be used in anywhere you are learning or teaching APA Style.
The Difference Between Academic Journals and Magazines
- What's the Difference? Academic Journals vs. Trade Publications vs. MagazinesThis infographic created by EBSCO explains the difference between the three most common sources of information in an academic database—academic journals, trade publications, and magazines.
- Anatomy of a Journal Article - from apastyle.apa..orgScientific/research/scholarly journal articles share a common anatomy, or structure.
Browse Reference eBooks on Psychology Research
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
This resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
The Encyclopedia includes more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
The source addresses culture across a broad spectrum of psychological perspectives and includes topics relevant to social psychology, cognitive psychology, environmental psychology, and cross-cultural psychology.
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior
This two-volume set includes more than 200 entries on topics covering all aspects of health and behavior.
Handbook of Research Methods in Experimental Psychology
The Handbook of Research Methods in Experimental Psychology presents a comprehensive and contemporary treatment of research methodologies used in experimental psychology.
Research Methods in Psychology
This volume covers discoveries based in neuroscience, clinical psychology's new interest in evidence-based practice and mindfulness, and new findings in social, developmental, and forensic psychology.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology provides comprehensive coverage of the qualitative methods, strategies, and research issues in psychology.
The SAGE handbook of Quantitative Methods in Psychology
The SAGE Handbook of Quantitative Methods in Psychology covers a methodological topic with equal attention paid to established theory and the challenges facing methodologists as they address new research questions using that particular methodology.