Subject Expert
Highlighted Sociology-related Databases
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
- JSTOR - Sociology This link opens in a new windowAccess to scholarly sociology journals through JSTOR which is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, and primary sources.
Possible Occupations -Sociology Majors
Students who major in sociology learn about society, social problems, social change, diversity, and interactions within and between social groups. The field of sociology covers a wide variety of topics including social inequality, race and ethnicity, gender studies, criminology, urban sociology and political sociology. Sociology graduates are prepared to seek employment in the areas of teaching, research, and sociological practice.
Selected career choices:
Anthropologist
CIA Analyst
Community Health Worker
Crime Analyst
Criminal Investigator and Special Agent
Criminologist
Document Management Specialist
Equal Opportunity Representative and Officer
Fraud Examiner, Investigator and Analyst
FBI Agent
Insurance Adjuster, Examiner, and Investigator
Insurance Underwriter
Intelligence Analyst
Interviewer, Except Eligibility and Loan
Lawyer
Legislator
Librarian
Library Assistant
Library Technician
Police Detective
Police Detective
Private Detective and Investigator
Probation Officer and Correctional Treatment Specialist
Sheriff and Deputy Sheriff
Social and Human Service Assistant
Social Science Research Assistant
Sociologist
Statistical Assistant
Survey Researcher
Social and Community Service Manager
Survey Researcher
Teaching
Technical Writer
Other Occupational Resources
- O*Net OnlineO*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
- Occupational Outlook HandbookThe government's premier source of career guidance featuring hundreds of occupations. This work is maintained by the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- Career Opportunities for Sociology MajorsRutgers University provides occupational titles, as well as types of employers for Sociology majors.
American Sociological Association (ASA) Resources
- American Sociological Association
This link opens in a new window
The American Sociological Association (ASA) provides a range of career resources for undergraduate and graduate students in Sociology. - What Sociologists Do
- This link opens in a new window
Profiles of sociologists, articles about what they do and video interviews where they describe in their own words how they “do sociology.” - Research on Careers
- This link opens in a new window
This page provides examples of reports from the ASA Research Department on jobs and careers, including topics such as academic careers, careers with a bachelor’s degree in sociology, the job market for sociologists, mentoring and networks, and work and family. - Careers in Sociology
- This link opens in a new window
"What are you going to do with a sociology degree?” The answer is that a sociology degree serves as an excellent springboard for a variety careers in many diverse fields.
Career Resources for Undergraduate Students. - Preparing for a 21st Century Job Hunt with a BA in Sociology
- This link opens in a new window
- Searching for a Job with an Undergraduate Degree in Sociology
- This link opens in a new window
- What are they Doing with a Bachelor’s Degree in Sociology
- This link opens in a new window
The report provides an overview of the post-graduate activities of graduates including the kinds of jobs they held, their satisfaction with these jobs, and the changes in their overall satisfaction with the sociology major. - ASA Job Bank
- This link opens in a new window
- Becoming a Student Member of the ASA
- This link opens in a new window
Related Web Resources
- Career Services at Eastern Washington UniversityThis site is a great place to start
- Resume template for Sociology majors (pdf)The resume template is developed by the ASA. It shows Sociology majors how to translate to a resume the skills and experiences they have obtained during their sociological training.
- Preparing resumes and cover lettersCrafting a resume or cover letter is the key to landing interviews.
- Pacific Sociological Association (PSA)A regional sociological association of western and pacific universities. PSA provides students and graduate students with opportunities to present their research.
- Commongood CareersA search firm for professional positions in the nonprofit sector in Massachusetts and beyond.
- USAJOBSAn official website of the United States government jobs.
Books from the Library's Career Collection
Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2016-2017- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015The Handbook is the main career source and it can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Great Jobs for Sociology Majors by Call Number: HM585 .L24 2009Publication Date: 2008A primer for new college grads on how to conduct a job search Ways to use a college major in the real world
What to Do with Your Psychology or Sociology Degree by Call Number: HF5382.5 .U5 W35 2007ISBN: 0375766251Publication Date: 2007This unique and informative guide directs Psychology and Sociology majors to career paths that will make the most of their educational backgrounds.
Many Paths, One Purpose: Career Paths for Social Work and Human Services MajorsCall Number: HV 10.5 .M35Publication Date: 2006This book identifies fifteen different career tracks in social work and human services.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 17th edition (6 vol.) by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference Desk HF5381.E52 2018ISBN: 9780816085149Publication Date: 2017
