Finding topics for your speech project
- CQ Researcher -- 1923-present This link opens in a new windowArticles from this magazine; each weekly issue covers one current event or policy topic.
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSelected full-text articles from U.S. newspapers, along with over one million radio and television transcripts.
- Pew Research Center Topics"A detailed listing of Pew Research Center polling and demographic topics and subjects."
Finding peer-reviewed articles in Communication databases
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, trade publications and more in the fields of communications, mass media and related subjects. Selected core titles are indexed back to the first issue.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly articles across the Web (this can be a good complement to subscription databases). Note the citation tracking feature. This link includes Eastern Washington University indicators. You will see "Find it @ EWU" in your results, if we have the article full text in one of our databases.
Related Websites and Articles
- Vital Speeches of the Day (online)Link to online journal content. Available from 1934-present.
- Pew Research CenterThe Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues.
- Speech AnxietyTips for understanding and dealing with speech anxiety from the University of Pittsburgh.
- History Channel: Famous Speeches & AudioIncludes video and audio for famous speeches on a variety of topics.
- British Library SoundsWide range of audio for topics including accents and dialect, oral history, and sound recording history.
- American RadioWorks: Say It Plain, Say It LoudAfrican American Speeches. Offers background information, transcripts, and audio.
- American RhetoricIncludes an online speech bank with video, audio, and transcripts.
Reference eBooks
The Power Presenter by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1282009095Publication Date: 2009Learn the successful presentation techniques used in over 500 IPO road shows and featured in "The Wall Street Journal" and "Fast Company."
Effective Speaking by Publication Date: 2016Effective Speaking provides the hard scientific information about audience psychology, text preparation, presentation methods, voice production, body language and persuasive advocacy which will help would-be speakers improve their performance.
21st Century Communication: A Reference HandbookPublication Date: 2009This reference source highlights important topics, issues, questions, and debates in the field of communication.
The Concise Encyclopedia of CommunicationCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015This new concise edition presents key concepts and the most relevant headwords of communication science in an A-Z format in an up-to-date manner
Speech Collections
- American Leaders SpeakPart of the Library of Congress American Memory Project.
- TED Talks2700+ talks to stir your curiosity
- Academy Awards Acceptance Speech DatabaseContains more than 1,500 transcripts of onstage acceptance speeches given by Academy Award winners and acceptors.
A Comprehensive List of Resources on Public Speaking
- ACRL/EBSS Library Resources for Communication Studies - Public Speaking
- This link opens in a new window
This guide will help students to learn about formal spoken communication through speech reading and rhetorical analysis.
Courtesy of ACRL/EBSS