Find Background or Biographical Information
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from the Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians and other Grove music encyclopedias, along with the Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World Vol. 1 Media, Industry, SocietyPublication Date: 2003The Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music Volume 1 provides an overview of media, industry, and technology and its relationship to popular music. In hundreds of entries covers the social phenomena of relevance to the practice of popular music.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World Vol. 2 Performance and ProductionPublication Date: 2003Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music provides an overview of media, industry, and technology and its relationship to popular music. In hundreds of entries, covers all aspects of the popular music industry, such as copyright, instrumental manufacture, management and marketing, record corporations, studios, companies, and labels.
Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicCall Number: JFK Main Level Reference (ML100 .G16 1998)Publication Date: 199810-volume set. Comprehensive resource on music from diverse cultures around the world - get information on regions, genres, and cultural context of music traditions. Read entries for overviews of topics and find more sources using the bibliographies.
- EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Can use the Catalog to search for online encyclopedia entries. Keyword search for person or term, then on the left under Format, limit to Reference Entries.
American SongCall Number: EWU-Cheney Main Level Reference ML128.M78 B6 1996Publication Date: 1996Covering every major production containing music up to 1995, this revised guide to the American musical theatre includes details of over 1000 additional shows. In all, the details on 4300 productions, from vaudeville, operetta, nightclub revues, and the Follies to the emergence of the modern musical theatre are featured.
International Dictionary of Black ComposersCall Number: EWU-Cheney Main Level Reference ML105 .I5 1999Publication Date: 1999185 entries from all music genres, though half are classical composers, most of which include images. Includes compositions by genre, discographies, and printed works.
