Subject Expert
Ielleen Miller
she/her
Contact:
Email: imiller@ewu.edu
Text or phone me at 509.818.0559
Office Hours:Wednesdays 9-11am, or by appointment - use Schedule Research Consultation link above.
Need to meet during the evening or weekend? Please text or email me to schedule.
Office: JFK Library U02C (upper floor, or just ask for me at the JFK Library Reference Desk)
Or Zoom https://ewu.zoom.us/j/97403645255
Text or phone me at 509.818.0559
Office Hours:Wednesdays 9-11am, or by appointment - use Schedule Research Consultation link above.
Need to meet during the evening or weekend? Please text or email me to schedule.
Office: JFK Library U02C (upper floor, or just ask for me at the JFK Library Reference Desk)
Or Zoom https://ewu.zoom.us/j/97403645255
What's Peer Review?
Courtesy of NCSU Libraries
What is a scholarly/peer-reviewed article?
Quick Links
- EWU Library CatalogSearch for books, videos, and other items located in the EWU Libraries and beyond.
Finding Articles
- Journal LocatorWant to know if the Library has electronic access to your favorite journal title? Look for it using the TITLE or ISSN search or browse for e-journals by subject.
Google Scholar
USA.gov
Search the Library Catalog
Library Catalog Search provides an easy, simple to use discovery interface to search across 80% of our library content with just a few keywords. You can change the publication dates, limit your results to full text, to scholarly materials, or to any combination of document types.
Research databases for finding information about speech topics
- CQ Researcher -- 1923-present This link opens in a new windowArticles from this magazine; each weekly issue covers one current event or policy topic.
- Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia of Social Work is a continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press. It includes over 800 articles that cover every facet of social work policy and practice, brief biographies of over 200 key figures in social work history, and references and links to related social work resources. Encyclopedia of Social Work is regularly updated with new and revised articles.
Encyclopedia of Media and Communication by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013Detailed and up-to-date, the Encyclopedia of Media and Communication synthesizes a wide array of works and perspectives on the making of meaning. This Encyclopedia is the standard reference text for the next generation of media and communication students and scholars.
The Concise Encyclopedia of CommunicationCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015This new concise edition presents key concepts and the most relevant headwords of communication science in an A-Z format in an up-to-date manner
21st Century Communication: A Reference HandbookPublication Date: 2009This reference source highlights important topics, issues, questions, and debates in the field of communication.
Finding peer-reviewed articles in Communication databases
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, trade publications and more in the fields of communications, mass media and related subjects. Selected core titles are indexed back to the first issue.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly articles across the Web (this can be a good complement to subscription databases). Note the citation tracking feature. This link includes Eastern Washington University indicators. You will see "Find it @ EWU" in your results, if we have the article full text in one of our databases.
Other useful databases
- America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) -- 1954-present This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database for U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Materials include history journals, book reviews from core history journals and relevant dissertations.
- Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines along with books and conference papers. Coverage dates vary, but a few titles go back to 1975.
- Health/Medicine Databases: CINAHL, MEDLINE & Health Sources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch four health/medicine databases simultaneously: the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, MEDLINE, Health Source Consumer and Health Source Academic.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
- Wiley Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to journals published by John Wiley & Sons, back to 1997. The database includes citations for additional titles, as well citations for articles older than 1997.
News Resources
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Selected full-text articles from U.S. newspapers, along with over one million radio and television transcripts.
- Newswires (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Articles from the Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire. Coverage only goes back one calendar year.
- News Use Across Social Media Platforms 2016In 2016, the Pew Research Center found that 62% of Americans get their news from social media.
- How to Spot Fake News - infographic by IFLA Given the dramatic increase of fake news sites or news sites that promote a certain point of view at the expense of the facts and truth, it is important to know if the news you are reading is real, unbiased, factual, and truthful, or if it is fake.
- Know Who is Reputable by Vanessa OteroThe graphic is an excellent representation of what you can expect from various popular news sources.
APA Citation Guides
- Handouts and Guides for the 7th edition APA Publication ManualHandouts can be used in anywhere you are learning or teaching APA Style.
- APA Formatting & Style (7th ed.) - comprehensive guideProvided by Purdue Online Writing Lab
Citation Managers
- MendeleyFree citation manager with web versions and software you can download to your computer. We recommend using the software, because it is easier to drag and drop citations.
- ZoteroFree citation manager that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, and it connects with your web browser to download sources.
Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.
Speech Collections
- American Leaders SpeakPart of the Library of Congress American Memory Project.
- TED Talks2700+ talks to stir your curiosity
- Academy Awards Acceptance Speech DatabaseContains more than 1,500 transcripts of onstage acceptance speeches given by Academy Award winners and acceptors.