Subject Expert
Qing Stellwagen
Contact:
JFK Library
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office: Showalter Hall
Room 104
Office hours for the year of 2023-2024: Tuesdays 9-11 am or by appointment
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office: Showalter Hall
Room 104
Office hours for the year of 2023-2024: Tuesdays 9-11 am or by appointment
509-359-2403
Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
Recommended Article Databases
The databases below are useful for finding articles from feminist or women's studies journals, or articles from a sociological perspective. Depending on your topic, you may want to consult the databases for other disciplines. See http://research.ewu.edu for a list of all Research Guides by Subject.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull text articles and ebooks from humanities and social sciences journals
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
- LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals, magazines, and books, along with indexing from hundreds more. Dates of coverage vary by title, but some go back to the mid-1950s/1960s.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- Women’s Studies Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowProvides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society with a focus on the 19th and 20th centuries. Access to diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals on issues such as societal contributions, social status, and women's movements and more.
Newspaper Articles
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSelected full-text articles from U.S. newspapers, along with over one million radio and television transcripts.
- Newswires (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from the Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire. Coverage only goes back one calendar year.
Identifying Fake News
What makes a news story fake?
- You can't verify its claims: A fake news article may or may not have links in it tracing its sources; if it does, these links may not lead to articles outside of the site's domain or may not contain information pertinent to the article topic.
- Fake news appeals to emotion: Fake news plays on your feelings - it makes you angry or happy or scared. This is to ensure you won't do anything as pesky as fact-checking.
- Authors usually aren't experts: Most authors aren't even journalists, but paid trolls.
- It can't be found anywhere else: If you look up the main idea of a fake news article, you might not find any other news outlet (real or not) reporting on the issue.
- Fake news comes from fake sites: Did you article come from abcnews.com.co? OR Realnewsrightnow.com? These and a host of other URLs are fake news sites.
(Source: Indiana University East Library: http://iue.libguides.com/fakenews)
- How to identify fake news in 10 stepsA guided research worksheet by ProQuest