Librarian
Core Journals on Food Science
Quick Links
- EWU Library CatalogSearch for books, videos, and other items located in the EWU Libraries and beyond.
APA Citation Style
The American Psychological Association (APA) citation style provides guidelines for formatting documents and citing sources in academic papers. APA Style is typically used in the social & behavioral sciences.
- Reference List: Basic Rules (OWL Purdue)See the left-hand navigation bar to find examples on how to cite specific sources. The section for Electronic Sources to cite things like articles from databases.
- Style and Grammar Guidelines (American Psychological Association)Scroll down the page to find the type of resource you need. Pick from such topics as paper format, grammar, bias-free language, tables & figures, in-text citations, references and research & publication.
Finding Books by Searching Library Catalog
- A comprehensive list of eBooks on food & addiction via Library CatalogTo locate books on topics of food and addiction, search the Library Catalog using "food AND addiction" as keywords.
Online Reference Resources
Food and AddictionCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012The Handbook provides comprehensive coverage of all subjects pertinent to food and addiction, covering topics such as food intake, metabolism, and environmental risk factors for obesity, to diagnostic criteria for food addiction, the evolutionary and developmental bases of eating addictions, and behavioral and pharmacologic interventions.
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia - EuropeCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2011This comprehensive reference work introduces food culture from more than 150 countries and cultures around the world.
Food in ContextCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2011Examines food in relationship to nutrition, world health issues, agriculture, environmental concerns, current events and political decision-making.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015Encyclopedia of Food Issues explores the topic of food across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and related areas including business, consumerism, marketing, and environmentalism.
Dictionary of FlavorsCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017This highly popular scientific reference continues to provide a unique approach to flavors, flavor chemistry and natural products.
The Gale Encyclopedia of PsychologyCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016This resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
Encyclopedia of obesityCall Number: OnlineRead the entry of Mood and Food. "physiological evidence that eating the food actually makes them feel better. ADDICTION MODEL In addition to coping mechanisms, the reasons why people who..."
Principles of Addiction: Comprehensive Addictive Behaviors and Disorders, Volume 1Publication Date: 2013The book's three main sections examine the nature of addiction, including epidemiology, symptoms, and course; alcohol and drug use among adolescents and college students; and detailed descriptions of a wide variety of addictive behaviors and disorders, encompassing not only drugs and alcohol, but caffeine, food, gambling, exercise, sex, work, social networking, and many other areas.
Finding Articles in the Databases
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowA citation database that covers articles and books on agriculture from the National Agricultural Library, including historical materials dating back as far as the 1500's.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (called Cochrane Reviews); DARE: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials); Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies); Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessment); and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).
- Health/Medicine Databases: CINAHL, MEDLINE & Health Sources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch four health/medicine databases simultaneously: the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, MEDLINE, Health Source Consumer and Health Source Academic.
- JSTOR - Health Sciences This link opens in a new windowAccess to scholarly health sciences journals through JSTOR which is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, and primary sources.
- PubMed -- 1946-present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index to all aspects of medicine back to 1946. Freely available from the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus additional selected biomedical sources. Look for the "Check for Full Text at EWU" button within individual PubMed records.
Video Resources
- Counseling & Therapy in Video This link opens in a new windowCollection of online videos on lectures, interviews, or demonstrations of counseling sessions related to social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
- Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy This link opens in a new windowStreaming videos of the latest research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology through presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners.
- Alexander Street Videos & Documents This link opens in a new windowStreaming video and documents collections: Academic Video Online, Counseling & Therapy in Video; Education in Video, and The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy.
- Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new windowOn-demand streaming video service with over 10,000 titles, ranging from feature films, television shows, and documentaries. Note: Most of the titles available are not listed in the EWU Library Catalog. If it says "request access," we do not have licensing for that title. Faculty can request access for their classes.
Government Website
- FoodData CentralFoodData Central includes the data from this website—Standard Reference (SR) Legacy and the USDA Global Branded Food Products Database—as well as the 2013-2014 Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS).