What's Peer Review?
Courtesy of NCSU Libraries
What is a scholarly/peer-reviewed article?
Citation Management Tool - RefWorks
Addiction E-Books
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2008Addiction; Substance abuse; Social issues; Diseases and conditions; Mental health; 4 volumes
Drug Discovery for the Treatment of Addiction by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014With addiction a key target for drug discovery efforts, this book fills an important and timely need for medicinal chemists who need to understand complex neuroscience issues.
Alcohol, Tobacco and Illicit Drugs by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013This volume focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding alcohol, tobacco, and illicit drugs.
Assessing Common Mental Health and Addiction Issues with Free-Access Instruments by ISBN: 9781136626968Publication Date: 2013-03-12The book identifies the free access instruments and provides summary information about administration, scoring, interpretation, psychometric integrity, and strengths and weaknesses. It is an essential text for all mental health professionals looking to expand the scope and range of their assessment instruments.
Subject Expert
Remote Access for Distance Learners
You can browse the library website and search the library catalog 24/7. However, accessing databases, e-books and e-journal content from off-campus requires your EWU username and password. Be sure to check out the following links:
Access Databases from Off-Campus (NetID username/password)
Guide for Distance & Online Education
Help with Finding & Requesting Books
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) borrows materials for you from other libraries. ILL services are available to EWU students, faculty and staff.
Finding Books & E-Books via Library Catalog
- EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for books, videos, articles and more at EWU Libraries, Summit Libraries and beyond. While not required, if you want the full functionality (save or request items, etc.), please sign in with your NetID.
Addiction Databases
- A-Z Addiction Studies DatabasesFind the major library databases for addiction studies research. Includes helpful descriptions of each database's content.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
- Counseling & Therapy in Video This link opens in a new windowCollection of online videos on lectures, interviews, or demonstrations of counseling sessions related to social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
Encyclopedias
Specialized subject encyclopedias can be useful to identify names, dates, issues, legislation and agencies relating to your topic.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowSAGE Knowledge offers subject encyclopedias and reference works, mainly in the social sciences and business management.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowScholarly encyclopedias and reference works on a wide variety of topics: business, ASCD publications in education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, sciences, and the social sciences. Formerly named Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).
- Addiction: a Reference EncyclopediaA single-volume encyclopedia and guide covering addiction science, neurochemistry, the history of government controls, and a selection of primary source documents.
- Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive BehaviorAn online equivalent of the 2009 reference work that "explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors."
- Encyclopedia of drug policyThe encyclopedia has two volumes of approximately 450 articles in an A-to-Z format.
- The A-Z Encyclopedia of Alcohol and Drug AbuseProduced in cooperation with the International Council on Alcohol and Addiction, with 30,000 brief entries this tome is really more of a dictionary than an encyclopedia.
- Alcohol and Temperance in Modern History: an International EncyclopediaA multifaceted two-volume encyclopedia that examines commercial and cultural facets of alcohol usage as well as legal, medical, and historical aspects.
- Encyclopedia of Smoking and TobaccoFeatures nearly 600 entries on the history, manufacture and use of all forms of tobacco.
Statistics
- Drugs and Crime Facts"Summarizes U.S. statistics about drug-related crimes, law enforcement, courts, and corrections from Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) and non-BJS sources".
- National Center for Health StatisticsComprehensive data on virtually all aspects of health in the United States, from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
- SAMHSA Office of Applied Studies - OAS: Data
- This link opens in a new window
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), Office of Applied Studies collects and reports on national and state data about substance abuse prevention, addiction treatment, and mental health services in the United States. - Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)Survey data on risky behaviors of secondary school students in the U.S., including the use of tobacco, alcohol, and other drugs.
Evidence-Based Resources
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) -- 1946-present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index to all aspects of medicine, covering journals and some titles include full-text.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (called Cochrane Reviews); DARE: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials); Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies); Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessment); and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).
- Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic ReviewsSystematic reviews of research including educational practice
- SAMHSA's National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and PracticesA searchable online registry of more than 290 interventions supporting mental health promotion, substance abuse prevention, and mental health and substance abuse treatment.
- National Guideline ClearinghouseSearchable evidence-based clinical practice guidelines for health workers from the Agency for HealthCare Research and Quality.
- Social Programs That WorkIdentifies those social interventions shown in rigorous studies to produce sizable, sustained benefits to participants and/or society.
APA Citation Guides
- Handouts and Guides for the 7th edition APA Publication ManualHandouts can be used in anywhere you are learning or teaching APA Style.
- APA Formatting & Style (7th ed.) - comprehensive guideProvided by Purdue Online Writing Lab