Education Librarian
Free access to ERIC
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) database, which is built by the U.S. Department of Education, can be searched freely from anywhere with an Internet connection. The free search interface is a little less friendly than the one you used as a student, and there will be fewer full-text articles available without access to our subscriptions, but this is still a phenomenal resource, and can help you find and access a large amount of journal material that is available in full text from open access journals.
Other Free Databases
- JSTOR's free contentJSTOR, a massive repository of academic journals and ebooks, supplies a portion of its collection for free (with more accessible if you're willing to sign up for a free account with them). Their free collections include some educational journals, both historical and more recent.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is another avenue for finding freely available, open access scholarly journals in our field of education (or in many other fields, for that matter). If you need assistance using DOAJ to find material, contact James, your Education Librarian, but hopefully you'll find that you can use their interface for searching and browsing successfully.
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)A complimentary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals. Given the limits of its free access content, though, I would recommend using this as a backup to ERIC, rather than as a first resort.