Subject Expert
Paul Victor
Contact:
JFK Library
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
509-359-7909
Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
Access Electronic Resources from Off-Campus
All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet using your EWU Single Sign-On (SSO) credentials. When you click on the link for one of our electronic resources, an EWU SSO log-in screen will appear. Follow these steps to log-in:
- Click on the red EWU SSO Login button.
- Choose your account (your EWU email address).
- Enter your password.
Having trouble accessing your Single Sign-On Account?
- If you forgot your username or password, then you can go to accounts.ewu.edu to reset them. If you haven't set up your account yet (a new student or employee), then go to accounts.ewu.edu and click on Activate Account to create your password.
- Are you still having trouble with your SSO login? Contact the IT Help Desk at (509) 359-2247.
Art Databases
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BRA) & Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements in these 2 indexes from the Getty Research Institute for articles and books from 1975-2007.
History
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) -- 1954-present This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Find full text from hundreds of scholarly journals and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
Literature
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowSearches across several Gale literary databases, including Literature Criticism, Gale eBooks - Biography & Literature collections, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Something About the Author (biographical and critical information on children's and YA authors). Formerly named Gale Literary Sources, Artemis Literary.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) -- 1923-present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database for literature and languages, plus folklore, drama and rhetoric. Indexes over 5,000 journals, plus books and dissertations.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. Offers definitions over time and contextual examples of usage, including the first written usage.
Multidisciplinary
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
Music
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database for music literature, covering journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.
Philosophy
- Philosopher's Index with Full Text (EBSCOhost) -- 1940-present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database for philosophy, indexing journals, books and anthologies going back as far as 1940.
- Past Masters (Intelex) This link opens in a new windowPhilosophical works from Aristotle to Wittgenstein.
Religion
- Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new windowA resource for religious and theological studies covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues.
*For more EWU resources on religion, see the early Christianity research guide.