Subject Expert
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
Want quality background information?
These online encyclopedias offer summaries of topics. Entries are written by experts and usually offer suggested readings for further information.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowThe Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVL) contains many scholarly encyclopedias on a multitude of topics. GVL contains the Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America (see the link in the box below). This resource can be keyword searched or browsed.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowSAGE Knowledge offers subject encyclopedias and reference works on various PEHR topics. Do a keyword search to see what is available.
Print & Online Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society by Call Number: JFK Library JFK Main Level Reference (GV11 .E555 2009)ISBN: 1412966701Publication Date: 2009Available in print & electronic formats. Click on the link in the Get it Now section to access this resource.
Encyclopedia of Leisure and Outdoor Recreation by Call Number: JFK Library JFK Main Level Reference (GV11 .E55 2003)ISBN: 0415252261Publication Date: 2004Available in print & electronic formats. Click on the link in the Get it Now section to access this resource.
Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America by ISBN: 0684312654Publication Date: 2004Only available online. Click on the link in the Get it Now section to access this resource.
Find Books, Videos
Having problems requesting items via Summit? Please contact the JFK Circulation Desk at 509.359.7888, circulation@ewu.edu, or in person on the main level.
- EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for books, videos, articles and more at EWU Libraries, Summit Libraries and beyond. While not required, if you want the full functionality (save or request items, etc.), please sign in with your NetID.
Access Electronic Resources from Off-Campus
All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet using your EWU Single Sign-On (SSO) credentials. When you click on the link for one of our electronic resources, an EWU SSO log-in screen will appear. Follow these steps to log-in:
- Click on the red EWU SSO Login button.
- Choose your account (your EWU email address).
- Enter your password.
Having trouble accessing your Single Sign-On Account?
- If you forgot your username or password, then you can go to accounts.ewu.edu to reset them. If you haven't set up your account yet (a new student or employee), then go to accounts.ewu.edu and click on Activate Account to create your password.
- Are you still having trouble with your SSO login? Contact the IT Help Desk at (509) 359-2247.
eBooks
*Note: The most efficient way to find eBooks is to do a keyword search in the library catalog. Please limit your search to EWU, then limit by Material Type eBooks. EWU affiliated patrons can use their single sign on to access eBooks from anywhere. If you want more help on these eBook collections, then see our eBooks research guide.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAccess thousands of recent electronic books, as well as thousands of classics in the public domain.
- University Press Scholarship Online eBooks This link opens in a new windowOxford University Press (OUP) titles, and University of California Press (UC) titles published in the current year with permanent access rights for EWU users. New publishers added this year include University of Chicago Press, Princeton University Press, and MIT Press. An additional 16,000 back listed titles also accessible. All titles DRM-free. Subjects cover the humanities, social sciences, science, and medicine. Available through the Orbis Cascade Alliance.
- Wiley Online eBooks This link opens in a new windowOver 19,000 DRM-free titles (recent and past publication dates) in humanities, social sciences, and STEM at a variety of audience levels. From the Wiley platform – filter your search to “Books” on the right side of the results page. Available through the Orbis Cascade Alliance.
Useful Subject Headings
When searching the library catalog, these terms will be helpful to use to help you find books and other sources.
Useful Call Numbers
You can browse the upper level book stacks by call number to find relevant books on the following topics. For a more detailed list, see the Library of Congress Subject Headings for recreation & leisure [http://www.loc.gov/aba/cataloging/classification/lcco/lcco_g.pdf].
GV1-1860 Recreation. Leisure
GV181.35-181.6 Recreation leadership. Administration of recreation services
GV182-182.5 Recreational areas and facilities. Recreation centers
GV191.2-200.66 Outdoor life. Outdoor recreation
GV201-555 Physical education and training
GV557-1198.995 Sports
GV1199-1570 Games and amusements
GV1580-1799.4 Dancing