Subject Expert
Beginning Your Research
If you are looking on some tips on beginning your research, I suggest that you visit this Beginning your research guide and reach out to me with any questions, Kelly Evans, kevans21@ewu.edu
Key EWU Databases for Communication Sciences Disorders Research
Listed below are links to databases that EWU Libraries provide access to. From off-campus, these databases are limited to EWU students, faculty, and staff. Non-EWU folks can access these resources at computer workstations located in the Spokane Academic Library.
Note also that any of the databases listed below as "EBSCO" share a common interface and can be searched concurrently. Just select a link to an EBSCO database, click on the "Choose Databases" link above the search boxes, and select the databases you wish to simultaneously search.
- CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) -- 1937-present This link opens in a new windowCINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes journals as far back as 1937 and provides full-text for over 2,300 journals. Also includes books, dissertations, conference proceedings, research instrument descriptions, and evidence-based care sheets.
- ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCOhost) -- 1966-present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive U.S. Department of Education database for education, indexing journals & magazines, as well as books, videos, conference papers and technical reports. Links to full text documents.
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) -- 1946-present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index to all aspects of medicine, covering journals and some titles include full-text.
- PubMed -- 1946-present This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to all aspects of medicine back to 1946. Freely available from the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus additional selected biomedical sources. Look for the "Check for Full Text at EWU" button within individual PubMed records. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly articles across the Web (this can be a good complement to subscription databases). Note the citation tracking feature. This link includes Eastern Washington University indicators. You will see "Find it @ EWU" in your results, if we have the article full text in one of our databases. - ComDisDome This link opens in a new windowComDisDome is an indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest) -- 1973-current This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles and more covering all aspects of linguistics.
- OpenDissertations (EBSCOhost) -- 1902-present This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during 1902 to the present. Newly enhanced with citations that have a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository.
