Sources for Background Information
- Psychology EncyclopediasSearch psychology encyclopedias from JFK Library online catalog.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016This resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Health PsychologyCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2021Organized thematically as an A to Z reference encyclopedia across 4 volumes, this comprehensive resource on health psychology provides a concise overview of the ever-expanding interdisciplinary field. "Health Psychology focuses on how biology, psychology, behavior, and social factors influence health and illness."
- National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)The NIMH has expert-reviewed information pages on a variety of mental health disorders and treatments.
- Diseases and Conditions - from Mayo ClinicComprehensive guide to symptoms, causes, risk factors, and treatment options for both physical and mental illnesses from one of the most respected hospitals in the world.
Professional Organizations - information on a disorders, treatments, and/or current research
- American Psychological AssociationThe APA website contains information about APA publications and other news in the field of psychology. Also, it contains links to other psychology sites, as well as opportunities for research.
- American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)Include information on AACAP membership, meetings, publications, research and more.
- American Association of Community Psychiatrists (AACP)A community for community psychiatrists and others committed to promoting health, recovery, and resilience in people, families, and communities.
- Anxiety Disorders Association of Americahe ADAA promotes the prevention and cure of anxiety disorders and works to improve the lives of all people who suffer from them.
- National Centre for Eating DisordersThis UK site provides information and help on all aspects of eating disorders including Anorexia Nervosa, Bulimia Nervosa, Compulsive Overeating Disorder, and related eating disorders.
- National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression (NARSAD)Website contains information about the NARSAD as well as links to information about research grants, publications, and facts on brain disorders.
- National Center for PTSDThe world's leading research and educational center of excellence on PTSD and traumatic stress. Help for U.S. Veterans and others through research, education, and training on trauma and PTSD.
- Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD)The purposes of the society are to promote multidisciplinary research in the field of human development, to foster the exchange of information among scientists and other professionals of various disciplines, and to encourage applications of research findings.