Subject Expert
Paul Victor
Contact:
JFK Library
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
509-359-7909
Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
JSTOR Videos
Primary Sources
For databases containing primary sources, please go to the Primary Sources section of this guide.
Dissertations
- Dissertations & Theses A&I (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowDoctoral dissertations and master's theses back to 1743. Most of the recent (1997-present) records include a 24 page preview. Also includes full text dissertations.
For more info. on how to find thesis, see the Primary Sources tab in this guide.
Citation Management Software
Need to Check-out Equipment from the Library?
Class Guides
Access Electronic Resources from Off-Campus
All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet using your EWU Single Sign-On (SSO) credentials. When you click on the link for one of our electronic resources, an EWU SSO log-in screen will appear. Follow these steps to log-in:
- Click on the red EWU SSO Login button.
- Choose your account (your EWU email address).
- Enter your password.
Having trouble accessing your Single Sign-On Account?
- If you forgot your username or password, then you can go to accounts.ewu.edu to reset them. If you haven't set up your account yet (a new student or employee), then go to accounts.ewu.edu and click on Activate Account to create your password.
- Are you still having trouble with your SSO login? Contact the IT Help Desk at (509) 359-2247.
General History
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
Want to learn more about how to use JSTOR? Then look at the JSTOR help guides [https://guides.jstor.org/how-to-use-jstor/searching].
World History
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) -- 1954-present This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Find full text from hundreds of scholarly journals and more.
American History
- America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) -- 1954-present This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database for U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Materials include history journals, book reviews from core history journals and relevant dissertations.
Economic History
- Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from periodicals (including peer-reviewed journals) on all aspects of business. Contains books, plus reports, papers and company profiles. Selected titles go back as far as 1886, but most begin in the 1990s.
- JSTOR Business & Economics JournalsFull-text articles from over 100 scholarly business and economics journals, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- EconLit (EBSCOhost) -- 1969-present This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles on economics issues from journals and magazines, dissertations, books and working papers.
- Regional Business News (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from regional business journals, newspapers and newswires from the U.S. and Canada, back to 1990.
Environmental Studies
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals and magazines (along with selected books, pamphlets and government reports) relating to human impacts on the environment.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and analyzes citations from 20,000+ journals in the sciences and social sciences back to 1970, though some are as far back as 1788. Search this database in lieu of Web of Science.
Ethnic Studies
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and encyclopedias, as well as primary source documents for the history and culture of the African American community.
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and encyclopedias, as well as hundreds of primary source documents and photographs for the histories and cultures of the Native American peoples.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, magazines and government documents on all aspects of North American indigenous peoples' culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. Formerly titled Bibliography of Native North Americans.
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowPrimary and secondary sources,including biographies, on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States.
*Note: For additional resources on American Indians, please see our American Indian Studies research guide.
Gender Studies
For more information/resources, see the following research guides:Women & Gender Studies.
- LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals, magazines, and books, along with indexing from hundreds more. Dates of coverage vary by title, but some go back to the mid-1950s/1960s.
- Women’s Studies Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowProvides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society with a focus on the 19th and 20th centuries. Access to diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals on issues such as societal contributions, social status, and women's movements and more.
Law/Legal History
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- Legal Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly legal journals and law reviews. Most go back 20 years or less, but a few go back to the mid 1960s, including American Business Law Journal and Journal of Accountancy.
Other Useful Databases
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull text articles and ebooks from humanities and social sciences journals
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new windowMultitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. Access to most content except some scholarly articles.
- Smithsonian Institution Research Information System This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
"Search over 7.4 million records, with 568,100 images, video and sound files from Smithsonian museums, archives, and libraries." Free resource.
