Access Databases from Off-Campus

All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet, with your Single Sign-on (SSO) username and password. This username/password is the same one that you use to log into campus computers, the wireless network, EWU Google Drive, EWU email, etc.

If you have not created your password, go to accounts.ewu.edu. See IT Support Solutions for more information.

If you have problems logging in, see below.

NOTE: If you can access one database, but not another (such as EBSCOhost databases are working fine, but you cannot access ProQuest databases), please contact the Reference Desk at Ask a Librarian. We need to know when specific databases are not working!

1.  Have you created a Single Sign On (SSO) password? (Your EagleNET PIN will not work.)

Yes!  Proceed to question 3.

No. Please go to accounts.ewu.edu to verify your username and set a password. See IT Support Solutions for more information

2.  Did you recently change your password?

Yes! Proceed to question 4.

No. Then there is something wrong with your password, such as it expired (password is good for only 120 days), or something is wrong with your account. To change your password, go to accounts.ewu.edu. For further help with your account, contact the IT Help Desk.

3.  Did you connect to the EWU Libraries authentication page, pictured below?

Yes! Click "EWU SSO Login" and type in your SSO username and password.

No. There are a few possible reasons why you are not seeing the page above. Try clearing out your cookies and your cache. But don't disable cookies entirely! Your computer must be able to accept all cookies for this service to work. To change the cookies setting, under Tools or Options in your browser, look for the Privacy or Security tab.

4.  Can you access Canvas https://canvas.ewu.edu or another resource that required you to log in with your SSO?

5.  Do you have your cookies disabled or limited on your Internet browser?

Your computer must be able to accept all cookies for this service to work. To change the cookies setting, under Options in your browser, look for the Privacy or Security tab.

6.  Does your browser block pop-up windows?

Some of our databases require pop-up windows. Changing your browser settings to allow pop-ups may solve the problem.

Other Troubleshooting Tips

• Always use the links to databases from the library website. If you are seeing a login screen for the specific database, rather than the one pictured above, then you are using the wrong URL/web address to access the database. Links to databases can be found in:
  • Databases A-Z list
  • Research Guides
  • EWU Library catalog
• Do not go to Google and type in ProQuest, JSTOR, etc. Google links to databases are not tailored to EWU access.
• If you are using a Bookmark or Favorite, it may not have saved the correct URL. If you want a stable link to bookmark, go to the Databases A-Z list and use the ones that begin research.ewu.edu/go.php?c=######.
• Firewall issues at workplaces. If you are at work, your workplace may have a firewall that is blocking access to our EZProxy proxy server. Contact your systems administrator and ask if they can allow access to https://ezproxy.library.ewu.edu/
• Firewall issues at home. If you have locked down your own computer or network, you will have to allow access to our EZProxy proxy server. If you do not know how to do this, contact the IT Help Desk.
• Network or server is temporarily unavailable. Contact the Reference Desk at Ask a Librarian to find out if we are having networking issues.

If none of the above suggestions are helping, please try re-booting your computer. If you are still having difficulty accessing the online electronic resources remotely please contact [collectionservices@ewu.edu].

See the EWU in the High School - Instructor Guide for specific information about EWU in the High School log-ins when you do not have an EWU SSO.

Make sure you are connected to the EWUsecure network, not the guest network. See the IT knowledgebase articles about network options.

Chromebooks can present unique issues with accessing library databases on- and off-campus. Use the troubleshooting steps above, and if all else fails, sign in to Virtual Labs, select the "VirtualLabs" application, then the "Desktop" application. Wait for the session to load, then sign in with your SSO password when prompted. In the virtual desktop, open a browser to access the internet. This browser session is essentially a simulated on-campus session. Consult the FAQs and Solutions section of the Virtual Labs page for support.