Getting Started with Health Statistics
Finding and Using Health Statistics - Learn about health data and statistics via the online tutorial from the National Library of Medicine.
Data Gems - Navigate Census Data
- Data Gems: a series of "how-to" videosOffers favorite tips and tricks about how to access and use Census Bureau Data.
- Videos by TopicWatch official videos released on selected topics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
FAQ - data.census.gov
Frequently Asked Questions to learn about using data.census.gov.
MyHealthfinder.gov - ODPHP
MyHealthfinder sponsored by the ODPHP gives users personalized recommendations for preventive services like screenings and vaccines. It also provides actionable, easy-to-understand information in English and Spanish to help users learn more about these evidence-based recommendations.
HealthyPeople.gov
Healthy People provides 10-year, measurable public health objectives and tools to help track progress toward achieving them.
Health.gov - News and Events
News & Events helps to stay current on the ODPHP's programs and projects, trainings and initiatives, news and announcements, and upcoming events.
Federal Government Data & Statistics
Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government's open data and also provides access to many local government and non-federal open data resources.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013-present (ProQuest)The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other federal agencies and private organizations.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States: 1878 - 2012The Statistical Abstract of the United States has been published since 1878. Statistical Abstracts Series here present the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades including 1878 – 2012 editions.
- Historical Statistics of the United States, 1789 - 1957A supplement to the Statistical Abstract of the United States with approximately 3,000 statistical time series which cover various periods from 1789 to 1945.
- Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1957A compendium which includes more than 8,000 statistical time series which cover periods from 1610 to 1957.
- Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 (Bicentennial Edition)A two-part compendium which includes more than 12,500 time series providing a statistical history of U.S. social, economic, political, & geographic development. It updates and expands the second edition, Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1957.
- County and City Data Book - A Statistical Abstract SupplementA convenient summary of statistics on the social and economic structure of the counties and cities of the U.S.
- State and Metropolitan Area Data Book: 2010 (7th edition)A summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the states and metropolitan areas (MAs) of the United States.
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisIt collects information on economic indicators, national and international trade, accounts, and industry.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsStatistical arm of the Department of Labor. Portal for finding inflation, consumer spending, wages, employment figures, etc.
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsStatistical arm of the U.S. Department of Justice, compiles data as well as publishes analytical reports, though mainly just down to the state level
- Bureau of Transportation StatisticsIt provides data on airline on-time performance, pirates at sea, transportation safety and availability, motorcycle trends, and more.
- Uniform Crime ReportsFederal Bureau of Investigation's compilation of statistical data, including the annual Crime in the United States, a cooperative statistical effort of over 17,000 city, county, and state law enforcement agencies, Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted
- Economic IndicatorsPublished monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, provides economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
- Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER)Historical economic statistical publications, from the Federal Reserve Board of St. Louis
- Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED II)A large database of wide-ranging macroeconomic time-series data, including regional data, from the Federal Reserve Board of St. Louis
- National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)Offers lots of current and historical data that is keyword searchable, down to the county level
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)Statistical arm of the U.S. Department of Education; compiles data and analytical reports
- National Center for Science and Engineering StatisticsIt publishes data on the American science and engineering workforce and the progress of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education in the United States.
- National Transportation StatisticsOver 260 data tables with source notes and supplementary documentation
U.S. Census Data & Statistics
Data.Census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The data are available from one centralized place. For guidance on using data.census.gov, please see their Resources page.
- United States Census BureauUnited States Census Bureau provides data about the nation’s people and economy.
- Census Bureau QuickFactsQuick tables on population, age/race, income, housing, income/poverty, disability and health insurance for towns with at least 5,000 people.
Just type in the location and a table will be generated. Can type in another location to compare results. - American Community Survey (ACS)The American Community Survey is the premier source for information about America's changing population, housing and workforce.
- Explore Census Data (also known as data.census.gov)A source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas.
- Economic CensusThe Economic Census provides detailed information on employer businesses, including detailed data by industry, geography, and more.
- Census Bureau: A to Z IndexInformation about and links to data collected by the Census Bureau and other agencies, organized by topic.
Health Data & Statistics
HealthData.gov is an online source for health-related data. It is constantly being updated, and includes thousands of data sets that can be downloaded.
- National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)A part of CDC and a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System. Provides statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the public health of the American people.
- CDC Data & Statistics by TopicCenters for Disease Control and Prevention health statistics by topic, surveys and data collection,
- Health, United States - an annual report on the health status of the U.S.Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics. The report presents an overview of national health trends organized around four subject areas: health status and determinants, utilization of health resources, health care resources, and health care expenditures and payers.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)MMWR is a weekly report from the Centers for Disease Control on public health concerns.
- National Vital Statistics Reports (NVSR)NVSR are regular issues from the National Vital Statistics System (NVSS) that cover provisional birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics.
- MedlinePlus Health StatisticsLinks to all kinds of health statistics from the National Institutes of Health and other federal government agencies.
- State Health Facts - Kaiser Family FoundationProvides health data at the level of states, counties, and nationally. Contains 800 health indicators.
State & Local Government Data & Statistics
State and local government agencies compile and maintain statistical information.