Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Eastern Washington University Libraries

Exercise Science

Resources for exercise science.

PICO and Databases

Other Guides

InterLibrary Loan

Same login as NetID single sign-on

Allow up to 12 days to receive.

Find a Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper

EWU Library Catalog Title Search -- Search to see if we have a particular periodical (journal, magazine or newspaper) online, in print or microfilm. Type in the name of the journal, magazine or newspaper in the box where it says "journal of". (Just erase and type in your title.)

  • Online access = we have the title online. Just click Online access to see a list of databases with date ranges. Click on the name of the database to view the journal.
  • Available at = we have it physically (in print and/or microfilm). Note the location and the call number. Click Available at to view the years we have available.

E-Journals -- Alphabetical list of the journals, magazines and newspapers we have online in our databases. It will not show if we have it in print or microfilm in the library.

If we do not have the periodical you are looking for, you may request specific articles via Interlibrary Loan.

How do I Find Journals EWU Doesn't Own?

*Important Information for the journal assignment:

  • If you tried searching EWU's catalog & didn't find the journal you want, then follow these steps:
    • Change the Search Scope to either Books, Articles & More or EWU + Summit Books, Videos & More.  You will then be searching all 37 Summit Libraries throughout the region (including EWU).
    • Redo your journal title search.  Journals with a yellow dot next to them indicate titles we don't own, but that are probably owned by Summit Libraries.
    • To verify it, click on the Find in a Library link.
    • You should find a Summit Library Holdings link that indicates which Summit Libraries have it.
    • If you ever need an article & EWU doesn't own the journal, then you can get a copy of the article using our InterLibrary Loan service.

Finding Articles within a Database

When you are searching in one of the library databases and the article in question isn't available full text right there, look for the button or hyperlink that says EWU - Check for Full Text.

Clicking the Check for Full Text button/link in the databases brings up a screen like this...

screenshot of check for full text results

Step 1: If the article is available online, it will say Fulltext available at the top. (It looks like a hyperlink, but it is a link to take you to the page you're already on.) Under View It, you will see links to the databases that have the article. In the example above the article is available in American Chemical Society and ProQuest.

Step 2: If the article is not available full text, it will say Check availability. To see if we have it in print or microfilm, scroll down to Find in a Library. If we do have at least one issue of the source, the page will look like the image above. Note:

  • the years we have -- for the example below we have 1966 through 2010
  • the location -- EWU-Cheney Main Level Periodical
  • the call number of the source -- QD .J93

If you want to get an article in a print journal that EWU owns during the COVID-19 restrictions, then you can click on the link in the catalog that says Request a Scan of a Chapter or Excerpt.  Our InterLibrary Loan staff will scan that portion of the item and send you a link to access it.

Step 3: If the article is not available full text, and we do not have it in print/microfilm, go back up to View It and click the link Request this article using Interlibrary Loan (in the middle under Can't find it? -- see image above). You will need to log in using your NetID/SSO. Verify that the fields were filled out correctly and click the red Submit Request button. Articles usually take 3-5 days. You will be notified via your EWU email that the article is available for you to download. (Directions are in the email.)