Modern British & Irish History

The collection is comprised of Protestant (& some Catholic) witness testimonies (from all social backgrounds) concerning their experiences of the 1641 Irish rebellion. The testimonies document the loss of goods, military activity and the alleged crimes committed by the Irish insurgents.

Papers and correspondence of the seven leaders of the 1916 Rising.

Records and documents relating to Irish rising during Easter Week in 1916.

A unique collection of pamphlets, newspapers, parliamentary papers and manuscript material contemporary with the 1800 Act of Union between Ireland and Britain.

The Tribunal's report on the events in Northern Ireland on January 30 1972 (known as Bloody Sunday).

The CAIN (Conflict Archive on the INternet) Web site contains information and source material on 'the Troubles' and politics in Northern Ireland from 1968 to the present. There is also some material on society in the region. CAIN is located in the University of Ulster.

Taken in the years 1656-1658, the Down Survey of Ireland is the first ever detailed land survey on a national scale anywhere in the world. The survey sought to measure all the land to be forfeited by the Catholic Irish in order to facilitate its redistribution to English Protestants. The collection contains digital images of all the surviving Down Survey maps. It also includes GIS information from both historical & modern (Google Maps) sources.

A collection of open access primary document sources.

Irish census reports from 1926 to 1991. For earlier years, see HistPop Web site.

The Online Historical Population Reports (OHPR) collection provides online access to the complete British population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937.

A collection of digitized newspapers, photos, letters, diaries and much more that is searchable.