Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Eastern Washington University Libraries

Library Resources for EWU Off Campus

This guide will assist you in finding relevant library resources for your classes.

Access EWU's Electronic Resources from Off-Campus?

EWU databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet using your NetID. Your NetID username/password is the same one that you use to log-in to Canvas, NetStorage, etc. It is generally the first letter of your first name, your last name and then last two digits of your EWU ID number.

If you have not created your NetID password, go to accounts.ewu.edu. See Accounts and Passwords for more information.  For questions about your EWU ID number, contact the IT Help Desk.

Contact the Learning Commons

Find Materials my Professor Put on Reserves for our Class?

 Your professor may decide to put items on reserve in the library for your class to read.  These items:

  • May include books, articles, etc. 
  • Are usually available at the Circulation Desk in the library where your program is located. 
  • Usually circulate for short periods of time. 
  • You often need a university ID to check them out (so be sure to bring it with you). 

Contact your professor or the library at your distance site to get more details.

Find the Full-Text of an Article in a Database

When you are searching in one of our databases and the article isn't available full text right there, look for the hyperlinked icon that says Check for Full Text.  Check for Full Text icon A new screen will open up in our catalog giving you these options:

  • If the article is available in another electronic resource, then it will give the names of the databases or ejournals, years of coverage and link(s) to get the article.  You can then download or E-mail it to yourself. 

Check for Full Text screen

*Note: Sometimes if the article is available from a journal vendor, then the link may not bring you directly to the full text of the article.  Instead, it will drop you on the top page of the journal's home page and you have to find the article using the citation information (volume, issue & page number) or by date.

  • If no online access is available for the article, then you'll get this message: "Not found online. Please check print holdings."  Being a distance education or online patron, you won't be able to access the print version of the article in person.  In this case, or if the article isn't available via EWU at all, then follow the steps below to request it via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
    • As in the example above, Click on the Request item using Interlibrary Loan link on the View Online tab.
    • Log into our ILL system using your NetID.
    • If you're requesting the article through a database or catalog, then it will import the citation information directly into our ILL system.  If it doesn't, then simple click on the Create Request link, fill in the necessary information and submit your request.   
    • ILL requests are free and we will notify you once your article is available.  Articles generally take a few days to arrive and can usually be downloaded directly from your ILL account. 
    • *If we need to physically mail items to you, then you should click on the Account Details tab & check to make sure your address is correct.
    • Still have questions about the status of your Interlibrary Loan items?  Go to our ILL guide or contact the EWU Interlibrary Loan department directly at 509-359-2492 or via E-mail [ewuill@ewu.edu].