Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Eastern Washington University Libraries

Library Services for EWU @ Bellevue College

Access EWU Library Databases to find Articles?

All of the EWU databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet, with your NetID (EWU username and password).

If you have not created your password, go to accounts.ewu.edu. See Accounts and Passwords for more information. For questions about your EWU ID number, contact the IT Help Desk.

For Bellevue College article databases...

When prompted to log in, use your Bellevue College email address and password (same as your Canvas log-in).  For help with BC logins, contact the Bellevue College LMC reference desk at 425-564-6161 or email reference@bellevuecollege.edu.

Arrange Library Instruction for my Students

To advance the educational goals of information literacy and critical thinking, the EWU Libraries offer online tutorials, class and subject guides or virtual library instruction to distance students in all programs. To integrate library instruction into your curriculum, please contact one of the following:

  • Suzanne Milton, Learning Services Coordinator (509-359-7887)
  • Correspond directly with the Library Liaison for your discipline.
  • Lisa Lapointe, BC Librarian coordinating EWU Distance Education efforts. 425-564-3139.

Try to schedule at least one month in advance for a face-to-face library instruction session.  If you have a research-related student assignment, then please provide your librarian a copy of it to help with session preparation.

Contact EWU Libraries?

*Note: During the COVID-19 pandemic, the EWU Library buildings are closed.  Please contact  your library liaison directly [https://www.ewu.edu/library/contact/] or our service points virtually (E-mail, etc.) to get help.

Contact the Learning Commons?

Find Databases & eJournals?

Library Guides by Subject

These guides have recommended article databases for more comprehensive searching, along with links to other resources for the discipline.

Databases A-Z

Alphabetical list of all of our databases for finding articles. This does not include the individual online journals and magazines by title. Use the link below Electronic Journals A-Z to access a particular online periodical.

Electronic Journals A-Z

This resource will tell you if a particular journal, magazine or newspaper is available full text in any of our article databases. This does not list every article database -- see the above link Databases A-Z to find a particular database, such as ProQuest or JSTOR.

Find Open Educational Resources (OER)

Reserve Materials for my Students?

Faculty may place library materials or items such as personal books and copies of articles for their students on reserve. Reserve items are located at the Circulation counter, and are available to students to check out for short periods of time. The instructor placing items on reserve determines the length of check-out time. Click the following link to download the Library Media Center's Reserve Guidelines.

Who do I contact for help with course reserves? 

What if I have materials I want to put in Canvas?  While Canvas makes it easy to post articles you have saved or scanned, doing so may violate copyright. You have a couple options for legally adding articles.

  • If the article is full text in one of the library databases (i.e. Academic Search Complete or JSTOR), then find the permanent or persistent URL.  For the article to be accessible from off-campus, it must go through our proxy server.  Therefore the URL for our proxy server [https://ezproxy.library.ewu.edu/login?url=] must go in front of the persistent URL of the article.  For more detailed information, see the Help sheet on linking to library articles or contact the JFK library reference desk [509-359-2263] for help.
  • If the article doesn't have a unique URL, or isn't full text, then contact the EWU Library Circulation Desk 509-359-7888 [ewu.circulation@ewu.edu] for help.

Need more help with using Canvas?  Contact EWU Online Learning: 509-359-7380 [easternonline@ewu.edu]

Watch Documentaries Online