Subject Expert
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
Planning Course Guides
Local Employment Dynamics - OnTheMap
Local Employment Dynamics is a partnership between the Census Bureau and state-level labor market information agencies. LED provides statistics on employment, job creation, earnings by industry, age, and sex.
Two data tools available from the LED program are OnTheMap and the Quarterly Workforce Indicators (QWI)
- OnTheMapDynamic mapping tool that allows for data visualization. Shows where workers are employed and where they live. Data is based on worker characteristics such as age, earnings, and NAICS industry groups.
- Quarterly Workforce Indicators (QWI)Detailed employment and demographic data. Includes measures for job flow, new hires, and separations, and average earnings for every 2-digit NAICS sector, with breakdowns by 3- and 4-digit industries.
County Business Patterns
County Business Patterns is an annual report conducted by the Census Bureau on the state of business in America. Topics include the number of business establishments, the number of employees, and payroll data. Data is available to the county level and is broken down by NAICS code (1998-present) or SIC code (pre-1998).
County Business Patterns primarily contains information on the private sector, and is not a good source of information on Government, Farm, or Nonemployer (owner-operator) employment.
- County Business Patterns (1993-Present)From the Census Bureau, provides annual data on the number of businesses, employees, etc., by industry as classified by NAICS or SIC code. Data available to the county level.
- Historical County Business Patterns Data (1986-Present)From the Census Bureau, comma delimited data files that can be imported into Excel. The data is coded and requires a key to identify and read the variables. The keys, or descriptions, are available for every CBP year and are called the following:
- County Record Layout
- State Record Layout
- State and County Geography Reference
- SIC or NAICS Code Descriptions - NAICS - North American Industry Classification SystemFrom the NAICS website: "The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy."
- NAICS-SIC CrosswalkDetails the corresponding parts of the two classification systems for conversion between the two. Includes NAICS matched to SIC and SIC matched to NAICS.
- CBP on CD (1986-2003)1986-2003 County Business Patterns data sets are available at the JFK Library on CD-ROM
- CBP in Print (1953-1962)Historical County Business Patterns data sets are available at the JFK Library in print
- CBP in Print (1966-1972)Historical County Business Patterns data sets are available at the JFK Library in print
- CBP in Print (1973-1997)Historical County Business Patterns data sets are available at the JFK Library in print
Nonemployer Data
Many businesses are owner-operator operations and do not have employees. Such businesses are not covered by County Business Patterns, but are still counted by the Census Bureau.
- Nonemployer Statistics(1997-Present) From the Census Bureau. Covers the number of nonemployer businesses and earnings down to the county level, by industry.
- Statistics about Business SizeFrom the Census Bureau. Data about small business.
Agriculture Employment and Earnings
Farm employment data is often calculated and reported separately from other employment and earnings data. The following are resources for this type of information:
- Regional GDP & Personal Income (Bureau of Economic Analysis)The regional economic accounts tell us about the geographic distribution of U.S. economic activity and growth.
- USDA Economic Research Service - Farm EmploymentAnnual reports, by state, on agriculture statistics.
Public Employee Data
Public employment data is often calculated and reported separately from other employment and earnings data. The following are resources for this type of information:
- County Profiles - OFMFrom the Washington State Data Book. County-level data on employment and wages paid, classified by industry, including Government.
- Federal, State, and Local GovernmentsFrom the U.S. Census Bureau. Employment and payroll data on government at all levels. Data is only reported at the state level.
- Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages (QCEW)(2001-present) From the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Annual data available at the county level. Scroll down the page and use the QCEW Databases to retireve data
- Regional GDP & Personal Income (Bureau of Economic Analysis)The regional economic accounts tell us about the geographic distribution of U.S. economic activity and growth.
- Washington State Data BookFor older editions of the Washington State Data Book, see the records in the library catalog. Print editions are housed in the JFK Library Special Collections.
- Washington State Data BookAccess through the state Website to get the latest edition of the Data Book
Unemployment Data
Data on Unemployment and Employment from the Bureau of Labor Statistics and at the state level for Washington and Idaho.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsStatistical arm of the Department of Labor. Portal for finding inflation, consumer spending, wages, employment figures, etc.