Subject Expert
Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
Multidisciplinary Article Databases
These are large, mostly full-text databases that attempt to provide some coverage in all fields.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
Social Science & Social Work Articles
Primarily article databases covering the fields of psychology, sociology, economics, and social work.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
- ScopusA multidisciplinary index and indexes over 3,000 social sciences journals Indexes articles and analyzes citations from 20,000+ journals in the sciences and social sciences back to 1970, though some are as far back as 1788. Search this database in lieu of Web of Science.to 1992.
- Social Work Abstracts (EBSCOhost) -- 1965-present This link opens in a new window***This database only allows 8 users at a time***
Selectively indexes journals for articles relating to social work and human services. - EconLit (EBSCOhost) -- 1969-present This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles on economics issues from journals and magazines, dissertations, books and working papers.
Medicine, Biology & Health Articles
Article databases in the life sciences, allied health and medical fields. For mental health, see Social Science & Social Work Articles (above).
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) -- 1946-present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index to all aspects of medicine, covering journals and some titles include full-text.
- CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) -- 1937-present This link opens in a new windowCINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes journals as far back as 1937 and provides full-text for over 2,300 journals. Also includes books, dissertations, conference proceedings, research instrument descriptions, and evidence-based care sheets.
- Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAccess to journals, magazines, and more, plus additional indexing. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
- Health/Medicine Databases: CINAHL, MEDLINE & Health Sources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch four health/medicine databases simultaneously: the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, MEDLINE, Health Source Consumer and Health Source Academic.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (called Cochrane Reviews); DARE: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials); Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies); Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessment); and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals that are mainly scientific and medical back to 1997 with indexing for additional journals, books, and protocols. Includes ebooks in the field of education.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Authoritative but non-technical information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other agencies and health-related organizations. - PubMed -- 1946-present This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to all aspects of medicine back to 1946. Freely available from the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus additional selected biomedical sources. Look for the "Check for Full Text at EWU" button within individual PubMed records.
- Scopus
This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles and analyzes citations from 20,000+ journals in the sciences and social sciences back to 1970, though some are as far back as 1788. Search this database in lieu of Web of Science. - HealWA: Health Evidence Resource for Washington StateLinks to a good variety of proprietary and open-access resources relating to health, including mental health. The proprietary databases are restricted to licensed health professionals in this state, including social workers. Registration is required before first use.
Law Articles
Policy & News Articles
These databases should contain general articles relating to current U.S. federal, state or local government policies.
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSelected full-text articles from U.S. newspapers, along with over one million radio and television transcripts.
- CQ Researcher -- 1923-present This link opens in a new windowArticles from this magazine; each weekly issue covers one current event or policy topic.