Subject Expert
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
Tips for searching the Internet
· When using search engines like Google, apply the same types of search strategies & methods of limiting your keyword search found in the “hints for searching online databases” section (e.g. using quotation marks to search for phrases). You can also use Google's advanced search to help you limit by specific domains like .gov or .org.
· Evaluate the resources you find to make sure that they are reliable Web sites.
· If you know the name of a reliable organization (museum, archive, etc.) that may have digitized artifacts, then try Googling the name of the organization and browse the organization’s Web site.
· If you’re looking for a specific document, and can type in the exact title, then someone (a university, archive, federal agency, etc.) might have digitized it.
Atomic Bomb & Hanford Websites
- Atomic ArchiveSee the sections on History (Manhattan Project & Signature Facilities), Resource Library (Historical Documents & Reports) & the Media Gallery (Videos, Photos, Maps, etc.).
- Atomic Bomb and the End of World War II: A Collection of Primary Sources (GWU's National Security Archive)Scroll down the page for an extensive timeline with links to relevant primary sources. You can also use the Documents link to search for other primary sources.
- Hanford, WA (Atomic Heritage Foundation)Some basic history & background information.
- Hanford Site (U.S. Dept. of Energy)Modern day Webpage for the Hanford Site.
- Manhattan District History (U.S. Dept. Of Energy)General Leslie Groves, head of the Manhattan Engineer District, in late 1944 commissioned a multi-volume history of the Manhattan Project called the Manhattan District History. Prepared by multiple authors under the general editorship of Gavin Hadden, a longtime civil employee of the Army Corps of Engineers, the classified history was "intended to describe, in simple terms, easily understood by the average reader, just what the Manhattan District did, and how, when, and where." The volumes record the Manhattan Project's activities and achievements in research, design, construction, operation, and administration, assembling a vast amount of information in a systematic, readily available form. The Manhattan District History contains extensive annotations, statistical tables, charts, engineering drawings, maps, photographs, and detailed indices.
- Manhattan Project: An Interactive History (U.S. Dept. of Energy)Refer to the sections on Maps, Photo Gallery & Library.
- National Archives CatalogSearch for atomic bomb and limit to digital materials by using the navigation pane above the search results or to the left side of the page.
- Openness Information Resources (U.S. Dept. of Energy)Miscellaneous primary sources.
- Voices of the Manhattan Project (Atomic Heritage Foundation & Los Alamos Historical Society)A collection of 500 audio/visual interviews with Manhattan Project workers and their families.
For other Web site suggestions by particular topics, please see the appropriate tab.
For further assistance, see Using Primary Sources on the Web.
Vital Statistics (WA State)
- Death Index (WA State Department of Health)Years of coverage: 1907-1960; 1965-2017