Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Eastern Washington University Libraries

History 290: History Today (Ann Le Bar)

Resources about the Hanford Site in Washington State

Access Electronic Resources from Off-Campus

All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet, with your NetID username and password. This username/password is the same one that you use to log into campus computers, the wireless network, NetStorage,etc.

  • For students, your username is the first letter of your first name, your last name, and the last 2 digits of your EagleCard number.
  • For faculty/staff, your username and password are the same ones you use to access EWU email.

If you have not created your password, go to accounts.ewu.edu. See NetID Account for more information.

Old Magazines & Other Periodicals (Primary Sources)

Academic Search Complete: Contains over 5,000 journals and more than 1,000 magazines & newspapers.  Titles of interest for this assignment: Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists (started Dec. 10, 1945), Congressional Digest, Foreign Affairs, Saturday Evening Post, Vital Speeches of the Day, etc.  Click on the Publications link (at the top) and enter the journal/magazine title in the lower search box to see if it's in that database.  Click on the title and then you can either browse by date or search within that publication (link on the top, right hand side).

Readers’ Guide Retrospective (1890-1982): Keyword search the table of contents for around 375 popular magazines (Time, Newsweek, etc.). Sorry, there's mostly only citations (not full text), but you can use that information to find the full text in the EWU Libraries.

 

Finding Historical Magazine Articles (Primary Sources) in Print (JFK Library)

Below are our print & microform holdings in the JFK Library.  See the library catalog for more detailed information.

*Note: All of these magazine titles are indexed in the Reader's Guide Retrospective database.  So search that database to find articles on your topic and then go to the paper or microform versions if you need the full text.

In paper, we have:

  • Atlantic (AP2 .A8, JFK Main Level Periodical)
  • Harpers Magazine (AP2 .H37, JFK Main Level Periodical & Special Collections)
  • Life (AP2 .L547, Special Collections, Lower Level)
  • Nation (AP2.N2, JFK Per. Main Level)
  • New Republic (AP2.N624, JFK Per. Main Level)
  • New York Times Magazine (No microform available--See Reader's Guide database for indexing)
  • Newsweek (AP2.N6772, JFK Per. Main Level)
  • Time Magazine (AP2.T37, Aux. Per. Lower Level)