History 490: Consumerism in World History

Journal Search -- Alphabetical list of the journals, magazines and newspapers we have online in our databases, and/or we have at least a few issues in print or microfilm.

If we do not have the periodical you are looking for, you may request specific articles via Interlibrary Loan.

All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet, with your NetID username and password. This username/password is the same one that you use to log into campus computers, the wireless network, NetStorage,etc.

• For students, your username is the first letter of your first name, your last name, and the last 2 digits of your EagleCard number.
• For faculty/staff, your username and password are the same ones you use to access EWU email.

If you have not created your password, go to accounts.ewu.edu. See NetID Account for more information.

*Note: Most of the magazines listed below are indexed in the Reader's Guide Retrospective database (see above).  For ones not indexed in the Reader's Guide, we will usually only have the last 20-30 years of coverage available online.  Some magazines have an online archives where you can search for article citations (dates, page numbers, etc.) for free.  But remember that they are businesses who will want to charge you for access to their magazine.  So get the citations for articles you want and then search the EWU Catalog to see where we have the print/microfilm copy of the magazine (probably in the lower level of the library).  If we own electronic access to a journal in a database, then you can do a keyword search for articles to find citations or full text.  If there are electronic finding aides available to you, then try going to the date of the historical occurrence and work your way forward in time.

In paper, we have:

• Time Magazine (AP2.T37, Aux. Per. Lower Level):
  • Indexed in Reader's Guide database (see above) from 1935 to 1983
• Newsweek (AP2.N6772, JFK Per. Main Level Periodical) 
  • Indexed in Reader's Guide database (see above) from 1933 to 1983
• The Atlantic Monthly
  • Indexed in Reader's Guide database (see above) from 1932 to 1981
• Harpers Magazine
  • Indexed in Reader's Guide database (see above) from 1889-1920's.  For dates later than indicated, please use Harper's online archive to find citations of articles you want (they want $ to view them).  Then search our catalog to see if EWU owns it.
• Life (Special Collections, Lower Level)
  • Indexed in Reader's Guide database (see above) from 1940 to 1972
• Nation (AP2.N2, JFK Per. Main Level Periodical) 
  • Indexed in Reader's Guide database (see above) from 1890-1983
• New Republic (AP2.N624, JFK Per. Main Level Periodical)
  • Indexed in Reader's Guide database (see above) from 1914 to 1983
• Saturday Evening Post (AP2 .S2 JFK Main Level Periodical)
  • Indexed in Reader's Guide database (see above) from 1920 to 1982
• Ladies’ Home Journal 
  • Indexed in Reader's Guide database (see above) from 1900 to 1982