Subject Expert
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
Ask a Librarian
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
EWU Resources
EWU Digital Collections [http://econtent.library.ewu.edu/]: Publicly available archival photographs highlighting the history of people and places of Eastern Washington University and the Eastern Washington region. Select the collection you want to look at and click on the Browse All link at the top to see all the materials/photographs.
Location of the physical EWU Libraries Archives & Special Collections: Lower level of the JFK Library (Tel.# 509-359-2475). Contact person: Steve Bingo, Digital Projects Archivist [sbingo@ewu.edu].
EWU Digital Commons [http://dc.ewu.edu/]: This collection holds research and scholarly output by individuals, university departments and centers on campus. Examples include electronic copies of recent masters thesis, faculty publications and more.
Local Resources
- Archives West (formerly the Northwest Digital Archives)Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the Northwestern United States, including correspondence, diaries, or photographs. Digital reproductions of primary sources are available in some cases.
- Museum of Arts & CultureThe Eastern Washington State Historical Society/Northwest Museum of Arts & Culture collects art, artifacts and primary source material in three disciplines: Regional History, Fine Art, and American Indian and other cultures. The collections include over 68,000 objects representing fine art and material culture from the Americas, Europe, and Asia.
- Northwest Room (Spokane Public Library)The Spokane Public Library has an extensive Northwest collection which contains over 13,000 items. The collection consists of reference books, maps, directories, periodicals, government documents, and archival materials pertaining to the history, exploration, and settlement of the Pacific Northwest. The Northwest Room offers information on every period from the late 1700's to the present. Scroll down the main Webpage to access their digital collections.
- Spokane Historical (EWU's Public History Program)Spokane Historical is a web and mobile platform for telling stories of Spokane and Eastern Washington. It is a free app available on your Android or iPhone smart phone or tablet. Spokane Historical is a project of the Public History program at Eastern Washington University.
- Washington Digital NewspapersBrings together over 600,000 pages from Washington’s earliest Territorial newspapers to the present day. Freely accessible to the public, this growing collection complements the Washington State Library’s physical collection
- Washington State Archives Digital CollectionsFor the Spokane area, contact the Eastern Regional Branch located on the EWU campus (960 Washington Street, Tel.# (509)235-7508). Collections span the years from the territorial period to the present and include school census records, tax assessment rolls, court dockets and case files, photographs, maps, plats, and engineering drawings. You can also search their historical newspapers [https://www.sos.wa.gov/library/newspapers/newspapers.aspx].