Subject Expert
Rose Krause
Contact:
Office hours: By appointment
(please email me to schedule!)
Canvas site: https://canvas.ewu.edu/enroll/NEYYCL
(please email me to schedule!)
Canvas site: https://canvas.ewu.edu/enroll/NEYYCL
Subjects: Art
Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
Online Art Reference Works
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowPlatform for art reference works, including Grove Art Online, "the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, offering global coverage of visual culture, composed and expanded in collaboration with thousands of scholars and specialists around the world." Grove Art: Access restricted to 8 users at a time. Try again later if you cannot access this resource. (please note that EWU does not subscribe to the Benezit Dictionary of Artists)Users can also search and access Oxford art reference titles including the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Grove Art video tutorial available on Canvas (sign in with your EWU SSO). (the tutorial is a few years old)
- The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms (2nd ed., 2010)Dictionary of visual art terms, including materials, techniques, styles and periods.
- Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2014)"[A] comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts—from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture."
- The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2003)Entries on Western artists, works, styles and movements, art forms and art terms.
Major Art Reference Works - Print
- Grove Dictionary of Art byCall Number: JFK Main Level Reference - N31 .D5 1996Note: Also available electronically through Oxford Art Online.
Boasting well over 6,000 contributors from 12 countries, the Dictionary offers its readers authoritative and comprehensive global coverage. A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts. - Encyclopedia of World Art, 16 vols.Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference - N31 .E533Publication Date: 1987
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference - TR9 .H25 2008, 2 vols.ISBN: 0415972353Note: Also available as an ebook at https://alliance-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/f/1q12ets/CP71156598160001451.
The Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography is the first comprehensive encyclopedia of world photography up to the beginning of the twentieth century. It sets out to be the standard, definitive reference work on the subject for years to come. Its coverage is global - an important 'first' in that authorities from all over the world have contributed their expertise and scholarship towards making this a truly comprehensive publication.The Encyclopedia presents new and ground-breaking research alongside accounts of the major established figures in the nineteenth century arena. Coverage includes all the key people, processes, equipment, movements, styles, debates and groupings which helped photography develop from being 'a solution in search of a problem' when first invented, to the essential communication tool, creative medium, and recorder of everyday life which it had become by the dawn of the twentieth century.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference - TR642 .E5 2006, 3 vols.ISBN: 1579583938Note: Also available as an ebook at https://alliance-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/f/1gp99gp/CP71348130000001451.
Photography is an international cultural form, practice, and profession. Encompassing art, advertising, journalism, fashion, commercial, political, and everyday photography, the field of photography also includes chemical processes, mechanical inventions, equipment, industries, movements, techniques, terms and concepts. In addition, photography has a considerable presence in public forums of all kinds, such as museums, archives, galleries, and publications. The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography brings together this rich history in three volumes. It explores the vast international scope of twentieth-century photography and explains that history with a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary manner. This unique approach covers the aesthetic history of photography as an evolving art and documentary form, while also recognizing it as a developing technology and cultural force.
Find Articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from over 100 scholarly art and art history journals, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BRA) & Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements in these 2 indexes from the Getty Research Institute for articles and books from 1975-2007.
General Art History Websites
- Timeline of Art History (Met Museum)Overview essays, chronologies, and links to significant works for ancient through contemporary periods.
- Art History Resources on the WebA comprehensive site of art history links.
- The World Wide Web Virtual Library: History of ArtA collection of links relating to Art History and computer applications in Art History.
- ArtSourceArranged topically, this is a selective list, considered a gathering point for information related to art and achitecture.
- Art History Resources and Design SchoolsThis site covers some basic art history definitions and provides links to various art sources. Links to a wide array of design schools are available, ranging from the culinary arts to fashion design, game design, graphic design, or multimedia, as well.
- Getty Research PortalOnline search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts, including art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
- Collaborative ART Archive (CARTA)A collection of archived web-based content related to art history and contemporary art practice.
Museum Collections
Many museums have published illustrated online databases for their collections. Some links to museum collection databases are listed below.
Art History Writing Resources
- Writing in Art History (Purdue OWL)Information on writing museum catalog entries, museum title cards, an art history formal and stylistic analysis, iconography studies, etc., as well as information on taking notes and writing compare and contrast essays.