Subject Expert
Rose Krause
Contact:
Office hours: By appointment
(please email me to schedule!)
Canvas site: https://canvas.ewu.edu/enroll/NEYYCL
(please email me to schedule!)
Canvas site: https://canvas.ewu.edu/enroll/NEYYCL
Subjects: Art
Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
Art-Related Vocabularies
- Art & Architecture Thesaurus (Getty Museum)A structured vocabulary of approx. 34,000 concepts, including 131,00 terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information related to the arts. Includes terms for materials, techniques, object types, schools, and movements.
- Drawing GlossaryDrawing and sketching terms defined
- Getty Thesaurus of Geographic NamesA structured vocabulary containing around 895,000 records, including around 1,115,000 names, place types, coordinates, and descriptive notes, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.
- Glossary of Fine Art TermsArt terms defined and in some cases pictures of defined terms.
- Printmaking GlossaryList of Terms Used in Engraving, Etching, Lithography, Screenprinting.
- Union LIst of Artists Names Online (Getty Museum)This union list of artists contains information gleaned from various sources about an artist (birthdates, nationality, residence, etc.)
Provenance Research
What is Provenance? Provenance research is a complex method to determine the ownership history of a piece art from the time of its origination by the artist to its present owner. For a more detailed description, click on the link below.
- Provenance Research InformationFrom Museum of Modern Art (MoMA).
- Getty Provenance Database: Archival Records:Period covered: 1550-1640. Records from private collections in France, Italy & the Netherlands; inventories and other documents from city, state, and national archives.
- Getty Provenance Database: Sales CatalogsPeriod covered: 1650-1840. Works of art from sales in Belgium, France, Germany, Great Britain, the Netherlands, and Scandinavia.
- Getty Provenance Database: Public CollectionsPeriod covered: 1500-1990. Description and provenance of paintings by American and British artists whose were born before 1900 and who works are in public institutions.
- Dealer Stock Books (Getty)82,000 sales records from 1846-1970 for two major dealers, the Goupil & Cie and Boussod, Valadon & Cie in Paris and the Knoedler Gallery in New York.
- Getty Research ResourcesOverview of resources available at the Getty.
- MFA Boston, WWII Provenance Research ProjectResults of research undertaken by the MFA on provenance, or the history of ownership, of its collection of European art.
- Metropolitan Museum Provenance Research ProjectRead about the project and view a list of works, as well as those determined to have been stolen and returned to their rightful owners.
- Provenance Research Project (MoMA)General information and links to resources on provenance research, especially for World War II-era art. Also information on MoMA's own collection.
- Collaborative ART Archive (CARTA)A collection of archived web-based content related to art history and contemporary art practice.
Conservation, Materials & Techniques
- George Eastman Museum YouTube ChannelVideos on photography and motion picture film, including conservation issues and techniques.
- Getty Museum YouTube ChannelVideos on Getty collections, conservation, techniques, artists, and other topics.
- Getty Education VideosVideos on various formats, including painting, sculpture, photography, manuscripts, etc. See especially the videos under "Art conservation" for information on particular format types and their conservation issues.
- Museum Research and Conservation (Getty)Links to publications and reports on conservation projects conducted by the Getty; most projects are related to antiquities.
- Met Museum Digital CollectionsDigitized items from the Met's library collections, including manuscripts, costume sketchbooks, museum publications, trade catalogs, and other materials.