It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art reference works, including Grove Art Online (Dictionary of Art) and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Featuring articles, images, and bibliographies written by scholars in the field of visual culture. Grove Art: Access restricted to 8 users at a time.
Benezit: Access restricted to 1 user at a time. Try again later if you cannot access these resources.
Interviews with artists and their close associates. Users must register to use the site, but it is open to the public.
Print Reference Works for Artists
The most comprehensive reference set we have for art is the 34 volume Grove Dictionary of Art, Ref N31 D5 1996 (34 volumes). But we have a number of others as well.
Artists of the American West (2 vols.) Ref N6536 D38 -- Entries of 300 artists born before 1900.
Artists of the Pacific Northwest Ref N6528 S52 -- Brief entries cover artists active in the Northwest (including BC and Alaska) prior to 1970.
Artists of the World: Bio-bibliographical Index A-Z Ref N40 A63 (10 vols.) -- Index to over 500,000 printed biographies from around the world and for all time periods in English, French, German, Italian and Spanish.
Biographical Dictionary of Women Artists in Europe and America Since 1850. Ref N6757 D86 1990.
Contemporary Artists 5th ed. Ref N6490 C6567 2002 (2 vols.) -- Covers nearly 850 international artists whose most significant work came after 1960. Includes brief biography and major exhibitions.
Contemporary Women Artists. Ref N8354.c66 1999. Brief biographies of women artists of the 20th century, including major exhibitions.
Dictionary of Artists (Benezit). Ref N40.D52133.2002 (14 vols.) -- European dictionary of international artists.
Dictionary of Women Artists. (2 vols.) Ref N8354.D53 1997--Selective list of 600 artists from the Middle Ages to the 20th century.
Guide to the Literature of Art History and Guide to the Literature of Art History 2. Ref N380.A7 (1980) and N380.M3 2005 -- Bibliographies of major art publications through the late 1990s. Includes entries on format, technique, and material type.
Twentieth-century artists on art: an index to writings, statements, and interviews by artists, architects, and designers. Ref NX456 .R59 1996 -- Index to world artists' interviews, writings, and other statements.
Latin American and Caribbean artists of the modern era: a biographical dictionary of more than 12,700 persons. Ref N6502.4 S45 2003 -- Covers 20th century artists.
Living Artists. Ref N6512.E45 -- Artists living in the United States, 20th century.
Mantle Fielding's Dictionary of American Painters, Sculptors and Engravers. Ref N6536.F5 1986 -- Over 12,000 artists are represented.
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century. Ref N6503 N67 -- Biographical dictionary covering women born before 1960 who have made a contribution to North American art.
Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists. Ref N6505.M59 2007 -- While most entries are biographical (painters, sculptors, printmakers, photographers, and mixed media), there are entries for art movements and terminology, but these entries include artists that are representative of a movement or a technique that is defined.